Minutes of Proceedings

Session: Session currently unavailable

Date: 17 June 2021

The Assembly met at noon, the Speaker, in the Chair.

1. Prayers

Members observed two minutes' silence.

2. Filling Vacancies in the Office of the First Minister and deputy First Minister

The Speaker outlined the procedure for the appointment of the First Minister and deputy First Minister as set out in section 16B of the Northern Ireland Act 1998 and Standing Order 44(1).

Mr Edwin Poots, the nominating officer for the Democratic Unionist Party, nominated Mr Paul Givan as First Minister.

Mr Paul Givan affirmed the terms of the Pledge of Office contained in Schedule 4 to the Northern Ireland Act 1998.

Mr Conor Murphy, the nominating officer for Sinn Féin, nominated Mrs Michelle O'Neill as deputy First Minister.

Mrs Michelle O'Neill affirmed the terms of the Pledge of Office contained in Schedule 4 to the Northern Ireland Act 1998.

The Speaker confirmed that Mr Paul Givan and Mrs Michelle O'Neill had taken up office as First Minister and deputy First Minister respectively.

The First Minister and deputy First Minister addressed the Chamber.

The Principal Deputy Speaker took the chair.

This was followed by comments from Members from the following parties: SDLP, DUP, Alliance Party, Green Party, TUV, People Before Profit and Independent Member Ms Claire Sugden.

3. Adjournment


That the Assembly do now adjourn.

The Speaker

The Assembly adjourned at 12.45pm.


Mr Alex Maskey
The Speaker
17 June 2021

Northern Ireland Assembly

Papers Presented to the Assembly on 16 June 2021 to 17 June 2021.

1. Acts of the Northern Ireland Assembly

2. Bills of the Northern Ireland Assembly

3. Orders in Council

4. Publications Laid in the Northern Ireland Assembly

Broadband Investment in Northern Ireland (Northern Ireland Audit Office)

5. Assembly Reports

Report on Legislative Consent Memorandum on the Westminster Compensation (London Capital & Finance plc and Fraud Compensation Fund) Bill (NIA 108/17-22) (Committee for Communities)

6. Statutory Rules

Draft SR - The Food and Feed Hygiene and Safety (Miscellaneous Amendments) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2021 (Department of Health)

SR 2021/165 The Corporate Insolvency and Governance Act 2020 (Coronavirus) (Amendment of Certain Relevant Periods) (No. 2) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2021 (Department for the Economy)

For information only

Explanatory Memorandum for SR 2021/151 The Health Protection (Coronavirus, Restrictions) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2021 (Amendment No. 6) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2021 (Department of Health)

Explanatory Memorandum and Revised SL5 for SR 2021/154 The Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (Amendment No. 4) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2021 (Department of Health)

SR 2021/162 The Waiting Restrictions (Draperstown) Order (Northern Ireland) 2021 (Department for Infrastructure)

SR 2021/163 The Loading Bays on Roads (Amendment No. 2) Order (Northern Ireland) 2021 (Department for Infrastructure)

SR 2021/164 The Parking Places (Disabled Persons' Vehicles) (Amendment No. 5) Order (Northern Ireland) 2021 (Department for Infrastructure)

7. Written Ministerial Statements

Decisions of the Executive on COVID-19, 17 June 2021 (First Minister and deputy First Minister)

8. Consultation Documents

Consultation on the Introduction of Additional Animal Welfare Protections for Service Animals in Northern Ireland (Finn's Law) (Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs)

9. Departmental Publications

Establishment of a Regional Care and Justice Campus – Consultation Analysis Report (Department of Health and Department of Justice)

10. Agency Publications

11. Westminster Publications

12. Miscellaneous Publications


The following Members notified the Speaker, under Standing Order 112, that they wished to avail of proxy voting arrangements for the sitting on Thursday 17 June 2021:

Steve Aiken

Dolores Kelly

Andy Allen

Gerry Kelly

Martina Anderson

Liz Kimmins

Caoimhe Archibald

Naomi Long

Kellie Armstrong

Gordon Lyons

Rosemary Barton

Séan Lynch

John Blair

Chris Lyttle

Cathal Boylan

Nichola Mallon

Maurice Bradley

Declan McAleer

Paula Bradley

Fra McCann

Sinead Bradley

Daniel McCrossan

Nicola Brogan

Patsy McGlone

Keith Buchanan

Colin McGrath

Tom Buchanan

Philip McGuigan

Jonathan Buckley

Maolíosa McHugh

Pam Cameron

Michelle McIlveen

Pat Catney

Sinead McLaughlin

Alan Chambers

Justin McNulty

Stewart Dickson

Gary Middleton

Linda Dillon

Andrew Muir

Diane Dodds

Karen Mullan

Jemma Dolan

Conor Murphy

Gordon Dunne

Mike Nesbitt

Mark Durkan

Robin Newton

Alex Easton

Carál Ní Chuilín

Sinead Ennis

Michelle O’Neill

Órlaithí   Flynn

Edwin Poots

Paul Frew

George Robinson

Colm Gildernew

Emma Rogan

Paul Givan

Pat Sheehan

Deirdre Hargey

Emma Sheerin

Harry Harvey

Christopher Stalford

David Hilditch

John Stewart

Cara Hunter

Mervyn Storey

William Irwin

Robin Swann

Declan Kearney

Peter Weir


Find MLAs

Find your MLAs

Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre

Visit the News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Follow the Assembly on our social media channels

Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more

Useful Contacts

Contact us

Contacts for different parts of the Assembly

Contact Us