Minutes of Proceedings

Session: Session currently unavailable

Date: 12 April 2021

The Assembly met at noon, the Speaker in the Chair.

1. Prayers

Members observed two minutes' silence.

2. Assembly Business

2.1 Motion: Suspension of Standing Order 20(1)


That Standing Order 20(1) be suspended for 12 April 2021.

Mr Keith Buchanan
Mr John O'Dowd
Mrs Dolores Kelly
Mr Robbie Butler
Ms Kellie Armstrong
Ms Clare Bailey

The Question being put, the motion was carried with cross-community support.

3. Speaker's Business

The Speaker announced the death of HRH Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh.

Members paid tribute to HRH Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh.



4. Adjournment


That the Assembly do now adjourn.

The Speaker

The Assembly adjourned at 1.40pm.

Mr Alex Maskey
The Speaker
12 April 2021


Northern Ireland Assembly

Papers Presented to the Assembly on 9 April 2021 to 12 April 2021

1. Acts of the Northern Ireland Assembly

2. Bills of the Northern Ireland Assembly

3. Orders in Council

4. Publications Laid in the Northern Ireland Assembly

The Commission for Victims and Survivors Annual Report & Accounts 2019/20 (The Commission for Victims and Survivors)

Translink Retention and Disposal Schedule (Public Record Office of Northern Ireland)

Health and Safety Executive Northern Ireland Retention and Disposal Schedule (Public Record Office of Northern Ireland)

5. Assembly Reports

Report of the Examiner of Statutory Rules to the Assembly and the Appropriate Committees Thirty-third Report of Session 2020 – 2021 (NIA 93/17-22) (Examiner of Statutory Rules)

6. Statutory Rules

SR 2021/96 The Health Protection (Coronavirus, Wearing of Face Coverings) (Amendment) Regulations (Northern Ireland) (Department of Health)

SR 2021/97 The Health Protection (Coronavirus, Restrictions) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2021 (Amendment) Regulations 2021 (Department of Health)

7. Written Ministerial Statements

8. Consultation Documents

9. Departmental Publications

10. Agency Publications

11. Westminster Publications

12. Miscellaneous Publications


The following Members notified the Speaker, under Standing Order 112, that they wished to avail of proxy voting arrangements for the sitting on Monday 12 April 2021:

Steve Aiken

Gerry Kelly

Andy Allen

Liz Kimmins

Martina Anderson

Naomi Long

Caoimhe Archibald

Gordon Lyons

Rosemary Barton

Séan Lynch

Roy Beggs

Chris Lyttle

John Blair

Nichola Mallon

Cathal Boylan

Declan McAleer

Paula Bradley

Fra McCann

Sinead Bradley

Daniel McCrossan

Paula Bradshaw

Patsy McGlone

Nicola Brogan

Colin McGrath

Thomas Buchanan

Philip McGuigan

Pat Catney

Maolíosa McHugh

Alan Chambers

Sinead McLaughlin

Stewart Dickson

Justin McNulty

Linda Dillon

Gary Middleton

Diane Dodds

Andrew Muir

Jemma Dolan

Karen Mullan

Gordon Dunne

Conor Murphy

Mark Durkan

Mike Nesbitt

Alex Easton

Robin Newton

Sinead Ennis

Carál Ní Chuilín

Arlene Foster

Michelle O’Neill

Órlaithí Flynn

Edwin Poots

Colm Gildernew

George Robinson

Paul Givan

Emma Rogan

Deirdre Hargey

Pat Sheehan

Harry Harvey

Emma Sheerin

David Hilditch

Christopher Stalford

Cara Hunter

John Stewart

William Irwin

Mervyn Storey

Declan Kearney

Robin Swann

Dolores Kelly

Peter Weir