Departments Bill

Bill Number: Bill 70/11-16

Bill Type: Executive

Bill Sponsor: The First Minister and deputy First Minister

The Departments Bill is:

A Bill to rename the Office of the First Minister and deputy First Minister, the Department of Agriculture and Rural Development, the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Investment, the Department of Finance and Personnel, the Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety, the Department for Regional Development and the Department for Social Development; to dissolve the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure, the Department of the Environment and the Department for Employment and Learning; and for connected purposes.

                                                      Stages of a Bill

Bill Stage Date Completed / Status All Associated documents and links
First Stage 30 November 2015

Bill as Introduced (HTM) (PDF)
Explanatory and Financial Memorandum (HTM) (PDF)

Official Report - 30 November 2015

Second Stage 8 December 2015 Official Report - 8 December 2015
Committee Stage 8 December 2015 Official Report - 8 December 2015
Consideration Stage 19 January 2016 Official Report - 19 January 2016
Further Consideration Stage 1 February 2016

Bill as Amended at Further Consideration Stage (PDF)(HTM)

Revised Explanatory and Financial Memorandum (PDF)(HTM)

Notice of Amendment - 26 January 2016

Marshalled List - 27 January 2016

Grouping List - 27 January 2016

Official Report 1 February 2016

Final Stage 2 February 2016 Official Report - 2 February 2016
Royal Assent 29 February 2016 Departments Act

Find MLAs

Find your MLAs

Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre

Visit the News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Follow the Assembly on our social media channels

Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more

Useful Contacts

Contact us

Contacts for different parts of the Assembly

Contact Us