The Common Frameworks Process

The establishment of common frameworks has five distinct phases: 

Phase one: Multilateral engagement on common frameworks between the UK Government and devolved administrations; 

Phase two: Detailed policy development resulting in an outline framework;

Phase three: Review, consultation and further detailed policy development resulting in a provisional framework confirmation; 

Phase four: Frameworks implementation and framework agreement;

Phase five: Post-implementation arrangements. This process also includes a period of reappraisal for each framework, spanning across phases four and five, where frameworks agreements will be re-evaluated according to the outcomes of cross-cutting issues.

Illustration of the framework delivery process

Illustration of the framework delivery process

 Source: Cabinet Office (April 2019) Revised Frameworks Analysis: Breakdown of areas of EU law that intersect with devolved competence in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland


UK Government/Devolved Authority parliamentary scrutiny process – mapped against phases of framework development

Source: Letter (01 June 2020) from Chloe Smith MP, Minister of State to William Wragg MP, Chair of Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee,  House of Commons.


Find MLAs

Find your MLAs

Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre

Visit the News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Follow the Assembly on our social media channels

Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more

Useful Contacts

Contact us

Contacts for different parts of the Assembly

Contact Us