Committee welcomes public apology to Victims and Survivors of Historical Institutional Abuse

Session: Session currently unavailable

Date: 11 March 2022

Reference: CFTEO 02/21/22

The Assembly Committee for the Executive Office has welcomed today’s public apology to victims and survivors of historical institutional abuse. The apology was made on Friday 11 March in the Assembly Chamber of Parliament Buildings.

Chairperson of the Committee, Sinéad McLaughlin MLA said: “As a Committee, we welcome today’s proceedings, where victims and survivors of historical institutional abuse finally received a public apology for the trauma and harm that was inflicted on them.

“The Committee is mindful that the circumstances were not ideal. In the absence of a First Minister and deputy First Minister to make the apology, the Committee acknowledges the hard work and flexibility of the Executive Office, the Ministers involved and especially the victims and survivors to make this work.

“Today, our thoughts are with the victims and survivors, on what is undoubtedly a very difficult and emotional day. We are also mindful of those who have sadly died before having the chance to hear an apology delivered. We hope the apology will be a further step in the healing process and that it helps those affected to move forward in their lives.”


Executive Office Committee Membership:

Committee Chairperson:         Sinéad McLaughlin MLA

Deputy Chairperson:               John Stewart MLA


Pádraig Delargy MLA

Diane Dodds MLA

Alex Easton MLA

Trevor Lunn MLA

Pat Sheehan MLA

Emma Sheerin MLA

For any media enquiries, please contact:

Caroline Moore

Deputy Communications Officer

Northern Ireland Assembly

Tel: 028 90 52 1606