Assembly Executive Office Committee welcomes briefing from European Commission Vice-President Maroš Šefčovič

Session: Session currently unavailable

Date: 02 December 2021

Reference: CFTEO 01/21/22

The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for the Executive Office received a briefing from European Commission Vice-President, Maroš Šefčovič at its meeting yesterday afternoon (Wednesday 1 December). Mr Šefčovič briefed MLAs on the current and future workings of the Northern Ireland Protocol.

Following the meeting, Committee Chairperson Sinead McLaughlin MLA said, “The examination of EU matters falls within the Executive Office’s remit and we welcomed the opportunity to speak with Mr Šefčovič today on a range of issues.

“It is extremely important that we continue to engage directly with those involved in negotiations, so we can voice the major concerns we have with the Protocol, and ask difficult questions.  It is crucial that we continue to outline what impact the Protocol has on people who live here. We must have a say on decisions that affect our future.

“We thank Mr Šefčovič for attending our meeting remotely today. We look forward to further engagement on the issues, and particularly to welcoming Lord Frost to a Committee meeting in January.”



Notes to Editor:

  1. Mr Šefčovič has been European Commission Vice-President for Inter-institutional Relations and Foresight since 2019. His main responsibilities include leading on inter-institutional relations, better policy making and strategic foresight.

  2. Mr Šefčovič is co-chair representing the European Union on the Partnership Council established by the EU-UK Trade and Co-operation Agreement. He serves on the Council alongside UK Cabinet Minister Lord David Frost.

  3. Executive Office Committee Membership:

Committee Chairperson: Sinead McLaughlin MLA

Deputy Chairperson: John Stewart MLA


Pádraig Delargy MLA

Diane Dodds MLA

Alex Easton MLA

Trevor Lunn MLA

Pat Sheehan MLA

Emma Sheerin MLA

Christopher Stalford MLA

For any media enquiries, please contact:

Caroline Moore

Deputy Communications Officer

Northern Ireland Assembly

Tel: 028 90 52 1606