Committee To Hold Inquiry Into Climate Change

Session: 2007/2008

Date: 23 October 2008

Reference: ENV 06/07/08

The Committee for the Environment will hold an inquiry into climate change. Having heard the latest research available on climate change from Dr Alice Bows, Senior Research Fellow into climate change the Committee agreed it would be timely to initiate this inquiry.

Dr Bows told the Committee that in order to meet the national and international targets for reducing carbon dioxide emissions, countries need to start developing the right policies now. She also indicated that in order to achieve these targets, emission must have peaked by 2015 and the longer we leave it, the more difficult it will be and the greater the implications on society.

Chairperson of the Committee, Mr McGlone said:
“The Committee has previously noted its concern about the threat from climate change and has now agreed it is essential for Members to be well informed when influencing key policy decisions. The effects of climate change impact on us all but are a particular risk for the more vulnerable and those living in poverty both locally and around the globe. We only need to look at the effects of recent flash flooding to see this. We also have a responsibility to ensure a safe and secure future for our young people and future generations as well as ourselves.”

The timing and terms of reference for the inquiry will be considered by the Committee over the next few weeks.


Notes to editors: 
The Chairperson of the Committee is Mr Patsy McGlone 
The Deputy Chairperson of the Committee is Mr Cathal Boylan

The Committee has a further nine members: 
Mr Roy Beggs, Mr Trevor Clarke, Mr Ian McCrea, Mr David Ford, Mr Tommy Gallagher, Mr David McClarty, Mr Daithi McKay, Mr Alastair Ross, Mr Peter Weir.

The Committee has a scrutiny, policy development and consultative role, and advises the Minister of the Environment directly on the policies of the Department.

The Clerk to the Committee is: 
Dr Alex McGarel 
Clerk, Committee for the Environment 
Rm 247, Parliament Buildings 
Belfast BT4 3XX


For further information, or to arrange an interview or photo opportunity, please contact:

Ms. Stephanie Mallon 
Press Office, 
Room B2, Parliament Buildings 
Belfast BT4 3XX 

Find MLAs

Find your MLAs

Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre

Visit the News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Follow the Assembly on our social media channels

Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more

Useful Contacts

Contact us

Contacts for different parts of the Assembly

Contact Us