Environment Minister meets with Assembly Committee for first time

Session: Session currently unavailable

Date: 16 May 2007

Reference: ENV 1/07

The Northern Ireland Assembly’s Committee for the Environment met today for the first time.

Patsy McGlone, Committee Chairperson welcomed Arlene Foster, Minister for the Environment to the meeting. Mr McGlone said: “The Committee will play a vital role in advising the Minister on the policy and plans of the Department and will scrutinise the work of the Department, proposed legislation and the overall budget allocations”.

The Minister briefed the Committee on the key issues facing the Department and responded to questions from Members on a range of areas including Planning, Road Safety, Waste Management, Local Government and Environmental concerns.

The Committee was notified to expect legislation on the licensing and regulation of the taxi industry.

The Committee will next meet on Thursday 24 May 2007 at 10.30am in Room 144, Parliament Buildings.

Committee Membership: -

Patsy McGlone, Chairperson
Cathal Boylan, Deputy Chairperson
Billy Armstrong
Trevor Clarke
David Ford
Tommy Gallagher
Samuel Gardiner
Alex Maskey
Ian McCrea
Daithí McKay
Peter Weir

Information about today’s meeting can be obtained from: -

Paddy Price
Information Office, Parliament Buildings
Tel: 028 90521137

Mrs Patricia Casey
Clerk to the Committee
Committee for the Environment,
Room 245,
Parliament Buildings,
Belfast BT4 3XX.

Find MLAs

Find your MLAs

Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre

Visit the News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Follow the Assembly on our social media channels

Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more

Useful Contacts

Contact us

Contacts for different parts of the Assembly

Contact Us