Minutes of Proceedings

Session: Session currently unavailable

Date: 21 February 2022

The Assembly met at noon, the Speaker in the Chair.

1. Prayers

Members observed two minutes' silence.

2. Assembly Business

The Speaker announced the death of Mr Christopher Stalford MLA.

Members paid tribute to Mr Stalford.

3. Adjournment


That the Assembly do now adjourn.

The Speaker

Following a one minute's silence, the Assembly was, by leave, adjourned at 2.19pm as a mark of respect to the late Mr Stalford.


Mr Alex Maskey
The Speaker
21 February 2022

Northern Ireland Assembly

Papers Presented to the Assembly on 16 February 2022 to 21 February 2022.

1. Acts of the Northern Ireland Assembly

2. Bills of the Northern Ireland Assembly

3. Orders in Council

4. Publications Laid in the Northern Ireland Assembly

Gangmasters and Labour Abuse Authority Annual Report and Accounts 1 April 2020 to 31 March 2021 (Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs)

Disposal of Documents Order 1925 – Amendment to Police Service of Northern Ireland Retention and Disposal Schedule (Public Record Office of Northern Ireland)

Review of Environmental Powers of Entry (Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs)

Draft Code of Practice for Environmental Powers of Entry (Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs)

5. Assembly Reports

Report of the Examiner of Statutory Rules to the Assembly and the Appropriate Committees Fourteenth Report of the Session 2021 – 2022 (NIA 177/17-22) (Examiner of Statutory Rules)

6. Statutory Rules

SR 2022/48 The Marriage, Civil Partnership and Civil Registration (Amendment) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2022 (Department of Finance)

SR 2022/50 The Rates (Regional Rates) Order (Northern Ireland) 2022 (Department of Finance)

SR 2022/51 The Rates (Small Business Hereditament Relief) (Amendment) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2022 (Department of Finance)

SR 2022/000 Draft SR - The Energy Performance of Buildings (Certificates and Inspections) (Amendment) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2022 (Department of Finance)

For information only

SR 2022/52 (C.3) The Domestic Abuse Act 2021 (Commencement No. 1) Order (Northern Ireland) 2022 (Department of Justice)

SR 2022/53 (C.4) The Domestic Abuse and Civil Proceedings Act (Northern Ireland) 2021 (Commencement No. 1) Order (Northern Ireland) 2022 (Department of Justice)

7. Written Ministerial Statements

Update on the Implementation of the Report of the Independent Medicines and Medical Devices Safety Review (Minister of Health)

Housing Executive Rent (Minister for Communities)

8. Consultation Documents

9. Departmental Publications

The Coronavirus Act 2020 Temporary Modification of Education Duties (No.39) Notice (Northern Ireland) 2022 (Department of Education)

10. Agency Publications

11. Westminster Publications

12. Miscellaneous Publications


The following Members notified the Speaker, under Standing Order 112, that they wished to avail of proxy voting arrangements for the sitting on Monday 21 February 2022:

Steve Aiken

William   Humphrey

Andy Allen

Cara Hunter

Caoimhe Archibald

William Irwin

Kellie   Armstrong

Declan   Kearney

Rosemary   Barton

Gerry Kelly

Doug Beattie

Liz Kimmins

Roy Beggs

Naomi Long

John Blair

Gordon Lyons

Cathal Boylan

Chris Lyttle

Maurice   Bradley

Nichola   Mallon

Paula Bradley

Declan   McAleer

Sinéad   Bradley

Daniel   McCrossan

Nicola Brogan

Colin McGrath

Keith   Buchanan

Philip   McGuigan

Thomas   Buchanan

Maolíosa   McHugh

Jonathan   Buckley

Michelle   McIlveen

Pam Cameron

Sinead   McLaughlin

Pat Catney

Justin   McNulty

Alan Chambers

Gary   Middleton

Trevor Clarke

Andrew Muir

Pádraig Delargy

Áine Murphy

Stewart   Dickson

Conor Murphy

Linda Dillon

Mike Nesbitt

Jemma Dolan

Robin Newton

Diane Dodds

Carál Ní   Chuilín

Stephen Dunne

Michelle   O’Neill

Mark Durkan

Matthew   O’Toole

Alex Easton

Edwin Poots

Sinéad Ennis

Aisling   Reilly

Deborah Erskine

George   Robinson

Ciara   Ferguson

Emma Rogan

Órlaithí   Flynn

Pat Sheehan

Paul Frew

Emma Sheerin

Colm   Gildernew

John Stewart

Paul Givan

Mervyn Storey

Deirdre   Hargey

Robin Swann

Harry Harvey

Peter Weir

David   Hilditch

Jim Wells