Northern Ireland Assembly Branch - The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA)

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association - Northern Ireland Branch

Who We Are

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA)

The CPA is an Association of Commonwealth Parliamentarians who, irrespective of gender, race, religion or culture, are united by community of interest, respect for the rule of law and individual rights and freedoms, and by pursuit of the positive ideals of parliamentary democracy.

The Association's mission is to promote the advancement of parliamentary democracy by enhancing knowledge and understanding of democratic governance. It seeks to build an informed parliamentary community able to deepen the Commonwealth's democratic commitment and to further co-operation among its Parliaments and Legislatures. More information on the CPA can be found on the CPAHQ website.

CPA Northern Ireland Branch

The AGM for the CPA NI Assembly Branch took place on 5 March 2024. CPA Members who were in attendance at the meeting voted to elect the new Executive Committee Chairperson along with six Committee Members.

Members of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Northern Ireland branch turn to face the camera for a group shot to mark their AGM on 5 March 2024. At the head of the table is Assembly Speaker, Edwin Poots.

Branch Executive Committee


  • Jonathan Buckley MLA


  • Steve Aiken MLA
  • Keith Buchanan MLA
  • Trevor Clarke MLA
  • Stewart Dickson MLA
  • Paul Frew MLA
  • Michelle McIlveen MLA