Committee to Seek Greater Clarity from Council Chief Executive on Decision to Withdraw Staff from NI Ports

Session: Session currently unavailable

Date: 23 April 2021

Reference: 03/20/21

The Assembly’s Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs Committee (AERA) has today agreed to seek further information on the decision by Mid and East Antrim Borough Council to withdraw its staff from the Port of Larne. The Committee call comes after a letter sent by the Council’s Chief Executive, Mrs Anne Donaghy to the Cabinet Office regarding ‘NI Concerns on the Implementation of the NI Protocol’ was published by a number of media outlets.

Speaking today, the Committee Chairperson Declan McAleer MLA said: “The Committee has some concerns about the content and timing of the letter sent by Mrs Donaghy to the Cabinet Office. We have therefore agreed to recall Mrs Donaghy to the Committee to provide further information and clarity on this matter. The Committee will also be writing to SOLACE directly to request details around its interactions with Mrs Donaghy on the decision to write to the Cabinet Office and on any discussions held with her about the contents of the letter.”

Mr. McAleer concluded: “The Committee has on a number of occasions indicated its support for staff working at our ports, that they are properly protected and supported and that they are not subjected to threats and intimidation as they go about their work. As a Committee, we will investigate this matter fully to build an accurate picture and timeline of the events leading up to this situation.”

Members also agreed today that they would recall Temporary Acting Assistant Chief Constable Singleton to attend the Committee.



Committee Membership.

Mr Declan McAleer MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Philip McGuigan MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Ms Clare Bailey MLA

Mrs Rosemary Barton MLA

Mr John Blair MLA

Mr Maurice Bradley MLA

Mr Patsy McGlone MLA

Mr Harry Harvey MLA

Mr William Irwin MLA


For media enquiries, please contact:

Sinead Murphy

Deputy Communications Officer

Northern Ireland Assembly

Tel: 029 90 52 5938

Mob:  07899 864368