British-Irish Parliamentary Assembly (BIPA)

The principal objective of BIPA is to contribute to a mutual understanding between Britain and Ireland through its work and through informal contacts.  Members of the Westminster and Dublin Parliaments have gained a greater insight into common areas of concern for the two countries.  Several past and present UK and RoI Government Ministers have been Members of the Body when backbenchers.

The NI Assembly’s membership of BIPA is as follows:

Full Members 

Mr Steve Aiken
Mr Paul Givan
Mr Andrew Muir
Mr Colin McGrath
Mr John O’Dowd

Members (associate):

Mr Cathal Boylan
Mr Alan Chambers

BIPA has two Plenary Sessions each year, alternating between the two countries.  The Body normally debates matters of political and general concern, reports from its Committees and Government responses, and a question period with a Minister from the host country. 


Find MLAs

Find your MLAs

Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre

Visit the News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Follow the Assembly on our social media channels

Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more

Useful Contacts

Contact us

Contacts for different parts of the Assembly

Contact Us