Minutes of Proceedings

Session: 2012/2013

Date: 11 December 2012

Venue: Room 29, Parliament Buildings

The meeting commenced at 1.31 p.m. in public session         

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Chairpersons Business

There was no Chairpersons business. 

3. Matters Arising

The Committee noted that correspondence had been sent to the Office of the First Minister and deputy First Minister through the relevant Committee to highlight Members’ disappointment that the Equality Unit did not provide a briefing at the meeting of Monday 10th December 2012. 

Lord Morrow joined the meeting at 1.33p.m.

Peter Weir joined the meeting at 1.33p.m.

4. Briefing from the Department for Social Development

Departmental Officials joined the meeting at 1.33p.m. 

Ms Martina Campbell, Social Security Policy and Legislation, and Mr Michael Pollock, Social Security Policy and Legislation, provided the Committee with an overview of the Welfare Reform Bill and Equality Impact Assessment.  

Caitríona Ruane joined the meeting at 1.44p.m.

Tom Elliott joined the meeting at 1.55p.m.

The briefing was followed by a question and answer session.

Colum Eastwood left the meeting at 2.24p.m.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to formally request the information that the Department indicated that they would forward during the course of the briefing.

Departmental Officials left the meeting at 2.54p.m.

Caitríona Ruane left the meeting at 2.55p.m.

5.  Forward Work Programme

The Committee considered the draft Forward Work Programme.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the Forward Work Programme as scheduled.

6.  Any Other Business

There was no other Business. 

2.55p.m. The meeting moved into private session.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it would continue its deliberations after its consideration of further written submissions received.

7.  Time, date and place of next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be held on Monday, 7th January 2013 in Room 29 at 2.30p.m.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 3.03p.m.

Mr Trevor Lunn MLA
Chairperson, Ad Hoc Committee on Conformity of Equalities Requirements, Welfare Reform Bill
Monday 7th January 2013

Find MLAs


Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more