Website Survey - We want your feedback on the Northern Ireland Assembly website. Take our 7 question survey now.

Committee for Justice

Synopsis: Welcome to the Home Page of the Committee for Justice. The Committee was established to advise and assist the Minister on matters within their responsibility. The Committee undertakes a scrutiny, policy development and consultation role with respect to the Department of Justice and plays a key role in the consideration and development of legislation.


Latest News

The next meeting of the Committee for Justice will be held on Thursday 27 January at 2pm.


Contact the Committee

Committee Clerk: Christine Darrah

Room 242,Parliament Buildings,
Belfast,BT4 3XX

Tel: (028) 9052 1629



Follow us on Twitter

Justice (Sexual Offences and Trafficking Victims) Bill - Call for Evidence

The Justice Committee wants to hear your views.

The Justice (Sexual Offences and Trafficking Victims) Bill was formally introduced to the Northern Ireland Assembly on 5 July 2021. The Committee for Justice will be scrutinising the Bill and would like to hear your views.

The Bill has two core aims:

  • To enhance public safety by implementing certain elements of the Report of the Gillen review of serious sexual offence cases and from a review of the law on child sexual exploitation and sexual offences against children
  • To improve services for victims of trafficking and exploitation

View the Committee's Call for Evidence and find out how to reply...

The deadline for submissions is Friday 24 September 2021.

Protection from Stalking Bill

Protection from Stalking Bill

The Protection from Stalking Bill was formally introduced to the Northern Ireland Assembly on 18 January 2021. The Bill passed its Second Stage on 8 February 2021 and has been referred to the Committee for Justice for Committee Stage. The Committee issued a call for evidence on the Bill and the deadline for submissions passed on Friday 16 April 2021.

If you or someone you know has been affected by the issues currently being considered by the Committee, here are some organisations who may be able to help you by offering advice and support:

Committee Chairperson with the Lord Chief Justice

Committee Chairperson Mervyn Storey wishes the Lord Chief Justice Rt. Hon Sir Declan Morgan well on his forthcoming retirement.

Committee Chairperson Mervyn Storey wishes the Lord Chief Justice Rt. Hon Sir Declan Morgan well on his forthcoming retirement.

The Lord Chief Justice was present for a briefing from the Committee for Justice on Thursday 24 June 2021 in which he answered questions on a range of justice issues.

Find MLAs

Find your MLAs

Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre

Visit the News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Follow the Assembly on our social media channels

Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more

Useful Contacts

Contact us

Contacts for different parts of the Assembly

Contact Us