Minutes 16 November 2021

CLG Minutes - 16 Nov 21_.pdf (153.64 kb)

Chairpersons’ Liaison Group

Minutes of Proceedings

Tuesday 16 November 2021

Meeting Location:

Virtual Meeting via StarLeaf

Present by Video or Teleconference:

Dr Steve Aiken OBE MLA

Dr Caoimhe Archibald MLA

Ms Paula Bradley MLA

Mr Jonathan Buckley MLA

Mr Chris Lyttle MLA

Ms Sinéad McLaughlin MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Ms Emma Sheerin MLA

Mr Mervyn Storey MLA

Mr Peter Weir MLA


Ms Linda Dillon MLA

Mr Colm Gildernew MLA

Ms Carál Ní Chuilín MLA (Chairperson)

In Attendance by Video or Teleconference:  

Mrs Lesley Hogg, Chief Executive/Clerk to the Assembly

Dr Kevin Pelan, Clerk Assistant

Ms Stella McArdle, Committee Clerk

Mr Trevor Allen, Senior Assistant Clerk

Mrs Bronagh Irwin, Assistant Clerk

Ms Jenny Massey, Clerical Supervisor

Ms Aine Kerr (agenda item 6)

Ms Patricia Keaney (agenda item 6)

Mr Paul Gill, Clerk Assistant (agenda item 7)

Ms Jessica Jacques (agenda item 7)

Ms Shauna Mageean (agenda item 7)

Mr Gavin Ervine, Senior Assistant Clerk (agenda item 8)

The meeting commenced at 1:02 pm in closed session.

1.    Apologies

As above.

2.    Chairperson’s Business


3.    Minutes of previous meeting

The minutes of the previous meeting of 8 November 2021, as circulated and agreed by correspondence, were noted.

4.    Matters Arising

Chairpersons discussed an amended draft response to the Committee on Procedures on its Inquiry into Private Members’ Bills.

Agreed: Chairpersons agreed that the draft response, as amended, is forwarded to the Committee on Procedures.

Chairpersons noted that an additional StarLeaf fully virtual stream is now live and has already proved useful to committees.

5.    Framework for Committee Engagement

Chairpersons noted a memo outlining the proposed Framework for Committee Engagement. Members further noted that NI Assembly Commission Business Plan for 2021 – 22 has the aim of strengthening engagement with the public and the objective of developing new approaches to engagement which enable the public to interact with the work of the Assembly.

Ms Sheerin joined the meeting at 1:08 pm

Mr Lyttle joined the meeting at 1.10 pm

Dr Archibald joined the meeting at 1:11 pm

Mr Weir joined the meeting at 1.12 pm

Agreed: Chairpersons agreed that the Committee Office develops detailed proposals to deliver the aims and objectives of the engagement framework.

6.    Support to MLAs in Role as Employers

Chairpersons received a briefing from Aine Kerr, Senior Human Resources Manager, and Ms Patricia Keaney, Human Resources Manager, on additional Human Resources (HR) support that is available to Members to support them in their role as employers.

The briefing was followed by a question and answer session.

The Deputy Chairperson thanked Ms Kerr and Ms Keaney for the presentation.

Mr Buckley left the meeting at 1.28pm

7.    Interparliamentary Forum

Chairpersons received a briefing from Paul Gill, Clerk Assistant, and Shauna Mageean, EU Affairs Manager, on the creation of a new inter-parliamentary forum to replace the inter-parliamentary forum on Brexit.

The briefing was followed by a question and answer session.

The Deputy Chairperson thanked Mr Gill and Ms Mageean for the presentation.

Chairpersons noted the proposed terms of reference for the Inter-Parliamentary Forum, which are to be discussed at its inaugural meeting on 10 December 2021; and noted that, where appropriate, CLG could provide a forum at the Assembly for considering any relevant cross-cutting issues arising at the Inter-Parliamentary Forum.

Agreed: Chairpersons agreed that they are content that Chairpersons of relevant Assembly Committees (or deputy Chairpersons should those Chairpersons be unavailable) should attend meetings of the Inter-Parliamentary Forum as dictated by the agenda. Chairpersons felt that the Committee for Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs should be represented and stressed they wish to see a balance of representation at the meetings, considering differing political viewpoints.

Agreed: Chairpersons agreed that they are content that the agreed agenda for forthcoming meetings and a written summary note of Forum meetings will be provided to CLG following each quarterly meeting.

Agreed: Chairpersons agreed that they are content that the Assembly will host future meetings of the Forum in turn and that Assembly officials will provide appropriate secretariat support for those meetings.

8.    Induction and Development Framework for Members

Chairpersons received a briefing from Gavin Ervine, Senior Assistant Assembly Clerk, on a framework for parliamentary induction and continuing professional development (CPD) for Members of the Assembly, to be implemented from the start of the next mandate in May 2022.

The briefing was followed by a question and answer session.

The Deputy Chairperson thanked Mr Ervine for the presentation.

Dr Archibald left the meeting at 1:54 pm

9.    Forward Work Programme

Agreed: Chairpersons agreed the draft forward work programme for the period December 2021 – January 2022.

10. Any Other Business


11. Date, Time and Place of the next meeting

The next Chairpersons’ Liaison Group meeting is scheduled to take place on Tuesday, 14 December 2021 at 1pm via StarLeaf.

The meeting was adjourned at 2.01 pm.

Ms Sinéad McLaughlin MLA

Deputy Chairperson, Chairpersons’ Liaison Group


Find MLAs

Find your MLAs

Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre

Visit the News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Follow the Assembly on our social media channels

Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more

Useful Contacts

Contact us

Contacts for different parts of the Assembly

Contact Us