The Northern Ireland Assembly needs your help with the project to redesign our website. Take our survey and tell us what you think of the current site and what you would like to see in a new one. Closing date is Sunday 10 March 2024. Take the survey and join the conversation!

Justice Committee Monitors the Troubles Permanent Disablement Payment Scheme

Session: Session currently unavailable

Date: 08 July 2021

Reference: CFJ 01/20/21

The Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Justice has been closely monitoring the progress in the delivery of the Troubles Permanent Disablement Payment Scheme.  The Committee recently met for the second time with the Victims Representatives Groups to discuss the implementation of the Scheme.

Committee Chairperson, Mervyn Storey MLA, said: “Meeting with the Victims Representatives Groups has given the Committee a greater insight into what is required to make the Scheme work, and we really appreciate the representatives discussing their concerns and issues with us. 

“While there are clearly concerns regarding the appointment of Capita to administer the Scheme, there has already been too much of a delay in getting the Scheme up and running. The focus must now be on getting the applications processed as quickly as possible while making sure that no further harm or trauma is caused to the victims.”

Committee Deputy Chairperson, Linda Dillon MLA, highlighted, “In looking at this issue the Committee has taken a steer from the Victims Representatives Groups on what is important to victims and we will continue to do so as the process moves forward. 

Mr Storey concluded, “We have asked the Victims Representatives Groups to advise us of any further issues and concerns with the Scheme immediately and the Committee will continue to monitor how the process is rolled out and how the Scheme is working in practice.”



Notes to Editor:

1. The Troubles Permanent Disablement Payment Scheme was developed to provide those living with severe and permanent disablement caused by physical or psychological injury in a Troubles-related incident.

2. Committee Membership:

Chairperson: Mervyn Storey MLA

Deputy Chairperson: Linda Dillon MLA


Mr Doug Beattie MLA

Ms Sinéad Bradley MLA

Ms Jemma Dolan MLA

Mr Robin Newton MLA

Ms Emma Rogan MLA

Mr Peter Weir MLA

Ms Rachel Woods MLA


For any media enquiries, please contact:

Assembly Communications Office

Northern Ireland Assembly


Find MLAs

Find your MLAs

Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre

Visit the News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Follow the Assembly on our social media channels

Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more

Useful Contacts

Contact us

Contacts for different parts of the Assembly

Contact Us