Official Report (Hansard)

Session: 2009/2010

Date: 14 June 2010

Local Government (Disqualification) (Amendment) Bill

PDF version of this report (34.47 kb)



Local Government (Disqualification) (Amendment) Bill

  15 June 2010


Members present for all or part of the proceedings:

Mr Cathal Boylan (Chairperson) 
Mr Patsy McGlone (Deputy Chairperson) 
Mr Roy Beggs 
Mr Jonathan Bell 
Mr John Dallat 
Mr Danny Kinahan 
Mr Daithí McKay 
Mr Brian Wilson


The Chairperson (Mr Boylan):

I refer members to the Local Government (Disqualification) (Amendment) Bill, a paper on which is tabled. Members need to clarify the Committee’s position on its formal clause-by-clause analysis of the Bill.


I seek agreement from members on clarification on clause 1. I agreed the clause, as amended, and other members abstained from voting. I ask members who are present whether they are content to clarify that point for the benefit of the record? Mr Dallat, Mr Wilson and Mr Kinahan were present at that meeting.


Mr Bell:

What is it that we are clarifying? That the members abstained?


The Chairperson:

Yes. For the record, I agreed to clause 1, but other members who were present at the meeting abstained. Today, we are simply seeking the Committee’s clarification of that.


Mr B Wilson:

Yes, I abstained.


The Chairperson:

Thank you very much.


Mr Kinahan:

I abstained.


Mr Beggs:

Yes, that is accurate.


Mr Dallat:

I abstained.


The Chairperson:

Once more, for clarification, are all members of the Committee agreed that that reflects the outcome of last week’s meeting?


Members indicated assent.


The Chairperson:

Thank you very much.

Find MLAs

Find your MLAs

Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre

Visit the News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Follow the Assembly on our social media channels

Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more

Useful Contacts

Contact us

Contacts for different parts of the Assembly

Contact Us