In light of the public health situation, Parliament Buildings is closed to the public.

No public tours, events or visitor activities will take place, until further notice. 

Assembly business continues, check the business diary for information on Plenary and Committee meetings.

Committee Membership

Synopsis: The main function of the Business Committee is to consider what business is to be scheduled when the Assembly meets in plenary session and to make arrangements for how that business will be conducted in the Assembly Chamber. The Committee has a maximum membership of thirteen and comprises the Speaker, as chairperson, and the whips of the parties.

Chairperson -

Membership (12)

Democratic Unionist Party (DUP)


Mr Keith Buchanan 1
Mid Ulster

Mr Gary Middleton 4,5,6



Sinn Féin

Mr Alex Maskey            (The Speaker)
West Belfast 

Ms Sinéad Ennis 3
South Down

Mr John O'Dowd 2
Upper Bann

Social Democratic and Labour Party (SDLP)

Mrs Dolores Kelly        Upper Bann Mr Colin McGrath         South Down    

Ulster Unionist Party (UUP)

Mr Robbie Butler        Lagan Valley Mr John Stewart            East Antrim    

Alliance Party

Ms Kellie Armstrong        Strangford

Mr Andrew Muir 
North Down

Green Party   
Ms Clare Bailey 
South Belfast

Membership Changes

1. With effect from 20 January 2020 Mr Keith Buchanan replaced Mr Gordon Lyons

2. With effect from 20 January 2020 Mr John O'Dowd replaced Ms Carál Ní Chuilín

3. With effect from 20 January 2020 Ms Sinéad Ennis replaced Mr Declan McAleer

4. With effect from 10 February 2020 Mr Gary Middleton replaced Mr George Robinson

5. With effect from 8 February 2021 Mrs Pam Cameron replaced Mr Gary Middleton

6. With effect from 15 March 2021 Mr Gary Middleton replaced Mrs Pam Cameron 

Find MLAs

Find your MLAs

Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre

Visit the News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Follow the Assembly on our social media channels

Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more