In light of the public health situation, Parliament Buildings is closed to the public.

No public tours, events or visitor activities will take place, until further notice. 

Assembly business continues, check the business diary for information on Plenary and Committee meetings.

Minutes of Proceedings

Session: 2011/2012

Date: 12 May 2009

Venue: Room 152

The meeting opened at 1.30pm in Public Session.

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Minutes

The Committee agreed the Minutes of the meeting of 5 May 2009.

3. Matters arising

(a) Correspondence issued

The Committee noted the correspondence issued since the meeting of 5 May 2009.

(b) Correspondence received

The Committee noted the correspondence received since the meeting of 5 May 2009.

4. Presentation – DARD- River Basin Plan - Water Quality Initiatives

Peter Scott and Brian Ervine, departmental officials joined the meeting at 1.33pm and presented to Committee on the department’s Water Quality Initiatives. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

Tom Elliott joined the meeting at 1.33pm.
William Irwin joined the meeting at 1.36pm.
Francie Molloy joined the meeting at 1.37pm.
Edwin Poots left the meeting at 1.55pm.
Thomas Burns joined the meeting at 1.55pm.
PJ Bradley joined the meeting at 1.56pm.
Pat Doherty joined the meeting at 1.56pm.

The officials left the meeting at 1.59pm.

5. Presentation – DARD – SL1s – The Control of Salmonella in Broiler Flocks Scheme Order ( Northern Ireland) 2009 and The Zoonoses and Animal By-Products (Fees) (Amendment) Regulations ( Northern Ireland) 2009

Ian McKee and Barbara Cooper, departmental officials, joined the meeting at 2.00pm and presented to Committee with revised fees in respect of the above mentioned subordinate legislations. Following the presentation, Members put questions. It was agreed to proceed to the next legislative stage, subject to the application of the revised fees.

The officials left the meeting at 2.16pm.

6. Presentation – Ulster Farmers’ Union – Key Issues

Clarke Black, Graham Furey, John Thompson, Harry Sinclair and Wesley Aston, representatives from the Ulster Farmer’s Union, joined the meeting at 2.16pm and made a presentation on the key issues currently facing Northern Ireland’s agricultural industry.

Willie Clarke left the meeting at 2.37pm.
PJ Bradley joined the meeting at 2.49pm.
Thomas Burns left the meeting at 3.05pm.

The representatives left the meeting at 3.07pm .

7. Dioxins Incident Inquiry

It was agreed that the Committee would seek legal advice before proceeding with the above mentioned inquiry.

8. Future Presentation

The Committee Clerk briefed Members on the future business of the Committee. It was agreed to proceed as proposed.

9. AOB

Members were reminded a number of Committee visits scheduled over the next month.

The Committee agreed that there would be no meeting on Tuesday 2 June 2009.

10. Date of the next meeting

The next Committee meeting will be held on Tuesday 19 May 2009 at 1.30pm in Room 152, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 3.12pm.

Find MLAs

Find your MLAs

Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre

Visit the News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Follow the Assembly on our social media channels

Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more