Social Development Committee

Welcome to the Home Page of the Social Development Statutory Committee which has been established to advise and assist the Minister for Social Development, Mr Nigel Dodds MP in the formulation of policy with respect to matters within his responsibilities and to undertake a scrutiny, policy development and consultation role with respect to the Minister for Social Development, Mr Nigel Dodds MP.

Here you will find information about the Committee membership and the work of the Committee.


Democratic Unionist Party

Mr Mark Robinson
Mr Sammy Wilson

Progressive Unionist Party

Mr Billy Hutchinson

Sinn Fein

Ms Mary Nelis1
Mr Gerry Kelly**

Social Democratic and Labour Party

Mr Danny O'Connor
Mr Eamonn ONeill
Mr John Tierney

Ulster Unionist Party

Mr Fred Cobain*
Sir John Gorman
Mr Tom Hamilton2

**Deputy Chairperson

1. Ms Mary Nelis replaced Ms Michelle Gildernew on 1 July 2002.
2. Mr Tom Hamilton replaced Mr David McClarty on 6 February 2001.

Find MLAs

Find your MLAs

Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre

Visit the News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Follow the Assembly on our social media channels

Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more

Useful Contacts

Contact us

Contacts for different parts of the Assembly

Contact Us