Employment and Learning

Welcome to the Home Page of the Committee for Employment and Learning1 which was established to advise and assist the Minister for Employment and Learning in the formulation of policy with respect to matters within their responsibilities and to undertake a scrutiny, policy development and consultation role with respect to the Minister for Employment and Learning.

Here you will find information about the Committee membership and the work of the Committee.

Membership (11)

Democratic Unionist Party
Mr Mervyn Carrick**
Mr David Hilditch2
Mr Roger Hutchinson

NI Women's Coalition
Prof Monica McWilliams

Sinn Fein
Mr Barry McElduff3
Ms Michelle Gildernew4

Social Democratic and Labour Party
Mr Michael Coyle5
Mr John Dallat

Ulster Unionist Party
Dr Esmond Birnie*
Dr Ian Adamson6
Mrs Joan Carson7

**Deputy Chairperson

1. An Act to change the name of the Department of Higher and Further Education, Training and Employment to Department for Employment and Learning was given Royal Assent on 20 July 2001.


2. Mr David Hilditch replaced Mr William Hay on 27 May 2002.
3. Mr Barry McElduff replaced Mr John Kelly on 1 July 2002.
4. Ms Michelle Gildernew replaced Ms Mary Nelis on 1 July 2002.
5. Mr Michael Coyle replaced Mr Arthur Doherty on 16 September 2002. Mr Arthur Doherty had replaced Mr Joe Byrne on 20 May 2002. Mr Doherty died on 6 February 2003.
6. Dr Ian Adamson replaced Mr Roy Beggs on 15 April 2002.
7. Mrs Joan Carson replaced Rev Robert Coulter on 11 September 2000.

Find MLAs

Find your MLAs

Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre

Visit the News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Follow the Assembly on our social media channels

Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more

Useful Contacts

Contact us

Contacts for different parts of the Assembly

Contact Us