To find out how this site uses cookies please read our Privacy Policy.

The Northern Ireland Assembly Commission

Welcome to the home page of the Assembly Commission. Here you will find out further information regarding the membership and functions of the Northern Ireland Assembly Commission.

The Northern Ireland Assembly Commission was appointed by resolution of the Assembly on the 23 May 2011.

The Commission’s Legislative Base

The Northern Ireland Act 1998 states, "there shall be a body corporate known as the Northern Ireland Assembly Commission ("the Commission") to perform:

(a) the functions conferred on the Commission by virtue of any enactment; and
(b) any functions conferred on the Commission by resolution of the Assembly."

The Commission is the body corporate of the Northern Ireland Assembly. It has the responsibility, under section 40(4) of the Northern Ireland Act 1998, to provide the Assembly, or ensure that the Assembly is provided with the property, staff and services required for the Assembly to carry out its work.

The Assembly Commission may delegate any of its functions to the Speaker or a member of staff of the Assembly and may determine its own procedures.

Latest Minutes

Annual Reports

Commission Membership

The Assembly Commission is chaired by the Speaker and consists of five other Assembly Members.

CHAIRPERSON, The Speaker : Mr William Hay

Mr Peter Weir DUP

Ms Caitríona Ruane SF

Mr Samuel Gardiner MBE UUP

Mr Pat Ramsey SDLP

Mrs Judith Cochrane ALLIANCE

Find Your MLA

Locate your local MLA

Find MLA

News and Media Centre

Read press releases, watch live and archived video.

Find out more

Follow the Assembly

Keep up to date with what's happening at the Assembly.

Find out more


Enter your email address to keep up to date

Sign up