

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 17TH JUNE 2015 ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present:

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Joe Byrne MLA

Mr John Dallat MLA

Mr Alex Easton MLA

Mr Ross Hussey MLA

Mr Chris Lyttle MLA

Mr David McNarry MLA

Mr Stephen Moutray MLA

Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee)

Mr Gavin Ervine (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Ms Christine Dodson (Clerical Supervisor)

Mr Barry McLernon (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mr Declan McAleer MLA

10:15am The meeting commenced in open session

6. 20's Plenty For Us Briefing: Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill

11:23am The following representative joined the meeting

Rod King MBE - Campaign Founder and Director, 20's Plenty For Us

The representative presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

11:23am	Mr McNarry left the meeting
11:29am	Mr Byrne left the meeting
11:32am	Mr Moutray left the meeting
11:32am	Mr McNarry re-joined the meeting
11:35am	Mr Ó hOisín re-joined the meeting
11:36am	Mr Hussey left the meeting
11:54am	Mr Lyttle joined the meeting
11:58am	The representative left the meeting

7. Institute of Public Health in Ireland Briefing: Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill

11:59am The following representatives joined the meeting

Dr Joanna Purdy – Public Health Development Officer, Institute of Public Health in Ireland Dr Elizabeth Mitchell – Director of Development & Capacity Building, Institute of Public Health in Ireland

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

12:19pm	Mr Lynch left the meeting
12:41pm	The representatives left the meeting
12:41pm	The Committee adjourned
12:47pm	The Committee recommenced in open session

The following Members were present: Mr Trevor Clarke (Chairperson), Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson), Mr John Dallat MLA, Mr Alex Easton MLA, Mr Chris Lyttle MLA.

8. Sustrans Briefing: Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill

12:47pm The following representatives joined the meeting

Steven Patterson – Deputy Director, Sustrans Anne Madden – Policy & Media Advisor, Sustrans

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

12:50pm Mr Ó hOisín re-joined the meeting

12:21pm The representatives left the meeting

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 24/06/15

[EXTRACT]