

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 24TH JUNE 2015 ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present:

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Joe Byrne MLA

Mr Alex Easton MLA

Mr Chris Lyttle MLA

Mr Declan McAleer MLA

Mr David McNarry MLA

Mr Stephen Moutray MLA

Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee)

Mr Gavin Ervine (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Ms Christine Dodson (Clerical Supervisor)

Mr Barry McLernon (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

09:51am The meeting commenced in open session

1. Apologies

No apologies were received.

2. Chairperson's Business

09:52am Mr Moutray joined the meeting

The Chairperson raised the issue of FOI requests received during summer recess.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to delegate authority to the Chairperson and Deputy

Chairperson to submit views on releasing or withholding information in any

non-routine/contentious FOI requests.

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 17th June 2015.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted holding correspondence from the Department for

Regional Development regarding Committee queries on Business Plan

2015/16.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Committee queries on June Monitoring.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from 20's Plenty For Us regarding

further information on the Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill and agreed to

include this in the Bill folder.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Committee queries on budget reductions to

Community Transport and Disability Action.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Committee queries on the Departmental Business

Plan 2015/16.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Committee queries on powers to set the default national speed limit in relation to the Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill agreed

to include this in the Bill folder.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding the Delegated Powers Memorandum for the Water

and Sewerage Services Bill and agreed to include this in the Bill folder.

5. Subordinate Legislation not Subject to Assembly Procedure

Members noted:

• The Roads (Speed Limit) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015

6. SL1: Disabled Persons (Badges for Motor Vehicles) (Amendment) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2015

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development is content with the merits of

the policy proposal.

7. Department for Regional Development & Translink Briefing: Inquiry into the Coleraine to Londonderry Rail Track Phase Two Project

09:55am The following officials joined the meeting

John McGrath – Deputy Secretary, Governance, Policy and Resources, DRD Ciaran Doran – Director of Public Transport & Services Division, DRD Philip O'Neill – Chief Operating Officer, Translink

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

09:55am	Mr Easton joined the meeting
10:06am	Mr Easton left the meeting
10:11am	Mr Byrne joined the meeting
10:13am	Mr McNarry left the meeting
10:17am	Mr Lyttle left the meeting
10:30am	Mr Moutray left the meeting
10:35am	The officials left the meeting
Agreed:	The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request a copy of the action plan which deals with recommendations from the PAR Report.

Agreed:

The Committee agreed to write to Translink to request a copy of the lesson learned document relating to the Coleraine to Londonderry Rail Track procurement process.

8. EU Matters

Members noted EU Matters June 2015 Update.

Agreed:

The Committee agreed to write to the Department to ask if any Departmental officials attended a meeting with Commission Vice-President Jyrki Katainen during his visit to Northern Ireland on 22 May 2015.

9. Any Other Business

10. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 1st July 2015 at 10:00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

10:37am The meeting was adjourned

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development

01/07/15