

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 17TH JUNE 2015 ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present:

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Joe Byrne MLA

Mr John Dallat MLA

Mr Alex Easton MLA

Mr Ross Hussey MLA

Mr Chris Lyttle MLA

Mr David McNarry MLA

Mr Stephen Moutray MLA

Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee)

Mr Gavin Ervine (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Ms Christine Dodson (Clerical Supervisor)

Mr Barry McLernon (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mr Declan McAleer MLA

10:15am The meeting commenced in open session

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairperson's Business

The Chairperson gave Members an overview of the meeting himself and the Deputy Chairperson held with Pat Ramsey MLA regarding the Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill, which took place on Tuesday 16th June 2015.

The Chairperson informed Members that Translink have requested that the briefing in relation to their Annual Accounts 2014/15 is rescheduled for Wednesday 8th July 2015.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to reschedule this briefing and amend the

Committee's Forward Work Programme.

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 10th June 2015.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the OFMdFM Committee

regarding the Joint Ministerial Committee (Europe) – March 2015.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Sustrans regarding Belfast Bike

Life.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for the

Environment to the Department for Regional Development regarding road

traffic accidents in the vicinity of Monkstown Community School.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding launch of Bike Week.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Consumer Council regarding

carnet tickets on public transport.

5. Department for Regional Development Briefing: Performance Against 2014/15 Business Plan

10:18am The following officials joined the meeting

Dr Andrew Murray – Chief Executive, Transport NI

John McGrath - Deputy Secretary, Governance, Policy and Resources, DRD

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

10:18am	Mr Moutray joined the meeting
10:21am	Mr Hussey left the meeting
10:37am	Mr Hussey re-joined the meeting
10:49am	Mr Dallat left the meeting
10:52am	Mr Easton joined the meeting
11:00am	Mr Ó hOisín left the meeting
11:11am	Mr Dallat re-joined the meeting
11:22am	The officials left the meeting
Agreed:	The Committee agreed to write to the Department to ask how much has been invested in the strategic roads network to date in this mandate.
Agreed:	The Committee agreed to write to the Department to ask for details regarding the cost estimates for each of the options for the Ballynure bypass.
Agreed:	The Committee agreed to write to the Department to ask for details regarding journey times for both the A5 and the A32 over the past five financial years.

regarding a breakdown of the cost of the last three winter services.

The Committee agreed to write to the Department to ask for details

6. 20's Plenty For Us Briefing: Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill

11:23am The following representative joined the meeting

Rod King MBE – Campaign Founder and Director, 20's Plenty For Us

The representative presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

11:23am Mr McNarry left the meeting

Agreed:

11:29am	Mr Byrne left the meeting
11:32am	Mr Moutray left the meeting
11:32am	Mr McNarry re-joined the meeting
11:35am	Mr Ó hOisín re-joined the meeting
11:36am	Mr Hussey left the meeting
11:54am	Mr Lyttle joined the meeting
11:58am	The representative left the meeting

7. Institute of Public Health in Ireland Briefing: Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill

11:59am The following representatives joined the meeting

Dr Joanna Purdy – Public Health Development Officer, Institute of Public Health in Ireland Dr Elizabeth Mitchell – Director of Development & Capacity Building, Institute of Public Health in Ireland

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

12:19pm	Mr Lynch left the meeting
12:41pm	The representatives left the meeting
12:41pm	The Committee adjourned
12:47pm	The Committee recommenced in open session

The following Members were present: Mr Trevor Clarke (Chairperson), Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson), Mr John Dallat MLA, Mr Alex Easton MLA, Mr Chris Lyttle MLA.

8. Sustrans Briefing: Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill

12:47pm The following representatives joined the meeting

Steven Patterson – Deputy Director, Sustrans Anne Madden – Policy & Media Advisor, Sustrans

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

12:50pm Mr Ó hOisín re-joined the meeting

12:21pm The representatives left the meeting

9. Subordinate Legislation not Subject to Assembly Procedure

Members noted:

- The Road Races (Armoy Motorcycle Race) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015
- The Road Races (Garron Point Hill Climb) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015
- The Off-Street Parking Order (Northern Ireland) 2015
- The Parking Places on Roads (Medical Practitioners) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015
- The Road Races (POC NI Oils Stages Rally) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015
- The Prohibition of U-Turn (A2 Belfast Road, Carrickfergus) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015
- The Road Races (Ulster Grand Prix Bike Week) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015

10. SL1: Public Passenger Transport (Service Agreements and Service Permits) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2015

1:22pm The following officials joined the meeting

Ciaran Doran – Director of Public Transport & Services Division, DRD Garry McKenna – Legislation Branch, DRD

The officials answered Members' questions in respect of the work of the above.

1:24pm The officials left the meeting

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development is content with the merits of

the policy proposal.

11. Any Other Business

12. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 24th June 2015 at 10:00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

1:25pm The meeting was adjourned

.....

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 24/06/15