

#### **COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT**

#### **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

# WEDNESDAY 10<sup>TH</sup> JUNE 2015 ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

#### Present:

Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Joe Byrne MLA

Mr John Dallat MLA

Mr Alex Easton MLA

Mr Ross Hussey MLA

Mr Chris Lyttle MLA

Mr Declan McAleer MLA

Mr David McNarry MLA

Mr Stephen Moutray MLA

#### In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee)

Mr Gavin Ervine (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Ms Christine Dodson (Clerical Supervisor)

Mr Barry McLernon (Clerical Officer)

#### **Apologies:**

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

10:05am Mr Lynch assumed the role of Chairperson

10:05am The meeting commenced in open session

#### 1. Apologies

As above.

## 2. Chairperson's Business

#### 3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 3<sup>rd</sup> June 2015.

## 4. Correspondence

10:07am Mr McAleer joined the meeting

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding appointments of Councillor Members to the Board of

the Warrenpoint Harbour Authority.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Disability Action regarding

Committee queries on budget reductions.

Agreed: The Committee noted holding correspondence from the Department for

Regional Development regarding Committee queries on cost of taxis and

company cars for Translink.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Committee queries on cost of taxis and company cars

for Translink.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Progress Report 2013/14 – Regional Development

Strategy (RDS) 2035.

#### 5. Ministerial Briefing: Impact of Budget Reductions

10:08am The Minister and the following official joined the meeting

Danny Kennedy MLA – Minister for Regional Development Peter May – Permanent Secretary, DRD John McGrath – Deputy Secretary, Governance, Policy and Resources, DRD

The Minister and officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

10:10am	Mr McNarry joined the meeting
10:11am	Mr Easton joined the meeting
10:28am	Mr Moutray left the meeting
10:40am	Mr Lyttle joined the meeting
10:48am	Mr McNarry left the meeting
10:48am	Mr Dallat left the meeting
10:52am	Mr McNarry re-joined the meeting
10:58am	Mr Dallat re-joined the meeting
11:03am	The Minister and officials left the meeting
Agreed:	The Committee agreed to write to the Minister for Finance and Personnel to highlight inadequacies in the Monitoring round process, which leads to the Department for Regional Development being so heavily reliant on in-year

# 6. Department for Regional Development Briefing: Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill

11:04am The following officials joined the meeting

funding.

Gerry Anketell MBE – Transport NI, DRD
Philip Hamilton – Head of Engineering Services, Transport NI, DRD
Greg McClelland – Road Safety Policy Manager, DRD
Matthew Alford – Lands and Legislation, DRD

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

11:09am	Mr Byrne left the meeting
11:23am	Mr Byrne re-joined the meeting
11:28am	Mr McAleer left the meeting
11:29am	Mr Hussey left the meeting
11:49am	The officials left the meeting

11:49am The Committee adjourned

11:54am The Committee recommenced in open session

The following Members were present: Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson), Mr Joe Byrne MLA, Mr John Dallat MLA, Mr Chris Lyttle MLA.

11:54am The Committee was inquorate

### 7. PlayBoard NI Briefing: Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill

11:54am The following representatives joined the meeting

Susan Kehoe – Senior Advocacy Officer, PlayBoard NI Alan Herron – Director of Service Delivery and Development, PlayBoard NI

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

11:56am Mr McAleer re-joined the meeting

11:56am The Committee was once again quorate

12:20pm The representatives left the meeting

#### 8. Subordinate Legislation not Subject to Assembly Procedure

Members noted:

- The Roads (Speed Limits) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015
- The Parking and Waiting Restrictions (Belfast) (Amendment No 3) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015

# 9. Department for Regional Development Briefing: Disability Action/Community Transport Budget Reductions

12:22pm The following officials joined the meeting

John McGrath – Deputy Secretary, Governance, Policy and Resources, DRD Ciaran Doran – Director of Public Transport Services Division, DRD

Deaglan Coleman – Public Transport Services, DRD

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

12:39pm The officials left the meeting

## 10. Any Other Business

# 11. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 17<sup>th</sup> June 2015 at 10:00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

12:39pm The meeting was adjourned

.....

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 17/06/15