

# **COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT**

## **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

# WEDNESDAY 20<sup>TH</sup> MAY 2015 ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

#### Present:

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson)
Mr John Dallat MLA
Mr Alex Easton MLA
Mr Chris Lyttle MLA
Mr Declan McAleer MLA

#### In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee) Mr Gavin Ervine (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Ms Christine Dodson (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Barry McLernon (Clerical Officer)

# **Apologies:**

Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson) Mr Ross Hussey MLA Mr David McNarry MLA Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

10:09am The meeting commenced in open session

10:09am The Committee was inquorate

## 1. Apologies

As above.

## 2. Chairperson's Business

The Chairperson gave Members an overview of the meeting he held with the new Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the Consumer Council, which took place on Tuesday 19<sup>th</sup> May 2015.

## 3. Strategic Planning and Forward Work Programme

Members noted the Committee Forward Work Programme for the current Assembly session.

10:14am Mr Lyttle joined the meeting

10:14am The Committee was quorate

#### 4. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 13<sup>th</sup> May 2015.

#### 5. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for Enterprise,

Trade and Investment to the Department for Regional Development regarding its Inquiry into Growing the Economy and Creating Jobs in a

Reduced Tax Environment.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development to Mr Philip McGonagle regarding Ulsterbus Funding.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development to Mr Damien Bannon regarding the Disability Action Transport

Scheme.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from NI Assembly Outreach regarding

a visit by Ukrainian Delegation to Parliament Buildings on Tuesday 26th May

2015.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding its response to the Committee's Inquiry into the

Benefits of Cycling to the Economy and agreed to publish this document on the Committee's website.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Rural Community Transport Partnerships and agreed to forward relevant information to the Community Transport Partnerships for

information.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development to Mr Paschal Lynch regarding the York Street Interchange.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Mr Damien Bannon regarding

the Door 2 Door Service.

## 6. Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill

The Chairperson highlighted the written submissions received in relation to the Bill. The Committee also discussed the Forward Work Programme in relation to the Bill.

Agreed: The Committee agreed a list of organisations to invite to provide oral

evidence.

# 7. Any Other Business

The Chairperson raised the issue of the construction of a new safety barrier on the Dublin Road, Antrim

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request further

information on this new safety barrier.

Mr Dallat raised the issue of the use of taxis and company cars by Translink.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request further

information on these issues.

10:19am The Committee adjourned

10:37am The Committee recommenced in open session

The following Members were present: Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson), Mr John Dallat MLA, Mr Alex Easton MLA, Mr Chris Lyttle, Mr Declan McAleer MLA.

# 8. EU Erasmus + Project

Members welcomed students participating in the EU Erasmus + Project to the Committee and answered questions regarding the Committee's work and engagement.

# 9. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 27<sup>th</sup> May 2015 at 10:00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

11:26am The meeting was adjourned

.....

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA
Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development
27/05/15