

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 22ND APRIL 2015 ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present:

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson)
Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Joe Byrne MLA
Mr John Dallat MLA
Mr Declan McAleer MLA
Mr David McNarry MLA
Mr Stephen Moutray MLA
Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee) Mr Gavin Ervine (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Ms Christine Dodson (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Barry McLernon (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mr Ross Hussey MLA

10:12am The meeting commenced in open session

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairperson's Business

The Chairperson informed Members that Mr Ross Hussey MLA's mother passed away at the weekend.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to Mr Hussey to pass on Members' condolences.

The Chairperson informed Members that he has been invited, along with the Deputy Chairperson, to meet the Minister on Monday 27th April 2015. One of the issues to be discussed relates to the Minister's letter from last week on.

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 15th April 2015.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Committee queries on Translink fare increases.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Committee queries on the Coleraine to Londonderry Rail Track Phase Two procurement process and agreed to include this in the

inquiry folder.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Committee queries on Departmental budget

allocations.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development to Cllr John Finlay regarding Community Transport issues.

Agreed: The Committee noted an invite from the Utility Regulator to attend a

workshop on consumer protection strategy.

Agreed: The Committee noted a copy of the Executive Summary of the NIAO Report

'DRD: The Effectiveness of Public Transport in Northern Ireland'.

5. Community Transport Briefing: Rural Transport Fund 2015/16

10:16am The following representatives joined the meeting

Paddy McEldowney – Easilink Community Transport

Anita Flanagan – Fermanagh Community Transport Ian Wilson – Down Armagh Rural Transport Partnership Billy Moore – North Coast Community Transport

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

The Chairperson declared an interest as a Member for the South Antrim constituency.

10:51am Mr Moutray left the meeting
 10:54am Mr McNarry left the meeting
 10:58am Mr Moutray re-joined the meeting
 10:58am The representatives left the meeting

6. Department for Regional Development Briefing: Community Transport

10:59am The following officials joined the meeting

Ciaran Doran – Director of Public Transport Services Division, DRD Tony McConnell – Public Transport Services Division, DRD

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

11:02am	Mr McNarry re-joined the meeting
11:14am	Mr McAleer left the meeting
11:24am	Mr McAleer re-joined the meeting
11:59am	Mr Lynch left the meeting
12:09pm	Mr Lynch re-joined the meeting
12:09pm	Mr Byrne left the meeting
12:18pm	Mr Moutray left the meeting
12:22pm	The officials left the meeting
Agreed:	The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request details of the reserves held by each of the Community Transport partnerships.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request details relating

to bids for funding for Community Transport partnerships from the

Departmental budget.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to confirm that the

decision to severely reduce to reduce rural Community Transport

partnerships was fully rural-proofed.

12:22pm The Committee adjourned

12:38pm The Committee recommenced in open session

The following Members were present: Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson), Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson), Mr John Dallat MLA, Mr Declan McAleer MLA, Mr David McNarry MLA, Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA.

7. Department for Regional Development Briefing: Public Passenger Transport (Service Agreements & Service Permits) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2015

12:38pm The following officials joined the meeting

Ciaran Doran – Director of Public Transport Services Division, DRD Sean Johnston – Programme Manager, Transport NI Garry McKenna – Head of Transport Legislation Branch, DRD

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

12:38pm Mr McNarry left the meeting

1:00pm Mr McAleer left the meeting

1:00pm The Committee was inquorate

1:04pm Mr McAleer re-joined the meeting

1:04pm The Committee was once again quorate

1:07pm The officials left the meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request an update on

the Dungannon integrated transport pilot project.

8. Department for Regional Development Briefing: Public Hire Taxi Ranks

1:08pm The following officials joined the meeting

Norman Chambers – Principal Engineer, Transport NI Roy Gordon – Traffic Engineer, Transport NI

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

1:29pm	Mr Ó hOisín left the meeting
1:29pm	The Committee was inquorate
1:33pm	Mr Ó hOisín re-joined the meeting
1:33pm	The Committee was once again quorate
1:34pm	Mr Dallat left the meeting
1:34pm	The Committee was inquorate
1:37pm	The officials left the meeting
Agreed:	The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request details in respect of the four new taxi ranks proposed and indicate what other plans they are developing for taxi ranks in Belfast.

9. Any Other Business

10. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 29th April 2015 at 10:00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

1:37pm The meeting was adjourned

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA

Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 29/04/15