

# **COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT**

#### **MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS**

# WEDNESDAY 27<sup>TH</sup> MAY 2015 ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

#### Present:

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson)
Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Joe Byrne MLA
Mr John Dallat MLA
Mr Alex Easton MLA
Mr Ross Hussey MLA

Mr Chris Lyttle MLA Mr David McNarry MLA

Mr Stephen Moutray MLA

#### In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee) Mr Gavin Ervine (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Ms Christine Dodson (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Barry McLernon (Clerical Officer)

#### **Apologies:**

Mr Declan McAleer MLA Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

10:09am The meeting commenced in open session

# 1. Apologies

As above.

# 2. Chairperson's Business

#### 3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 20<sup>th</sup> May 2015.

#### 4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding the Independent Review of Decisions Involving Safety

Barrier at the Junction of Sans Souci Park and Malone Road, Belfast and agreed to write to the Department to ask how much this report cost.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Mr Damien Bannon regarding

the Door 2 Door Service and agreed to write to Mr Bannon to give him an

update on today's discussions with Disability Action.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from IMTAC regarding their position

of kerbs.

Agreed: The Committee noted a copy of North West Region Cross Border Group May

Newsletter.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Minister Danny Kennedy

regarding the appointment of the new Translink Chief Executive and agreed to write to the Department to ask for further details on the remuneration of

this post.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Minister Danny Kennedy to the

Newsletter regarding the NI Water Pay Settlement.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Committee queries on the NI Water Pay Settlement.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding the Water and Sewerage Services Bill.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence Fermanagh Community Transport

regarding inaccuracies provided to the Committee by the Department.

#### 5. Disability Action Briefing: Disability Action Transport Scheme

10:14am The following representatives joined the meeting

Kevin Doherty – Chief Executive, Disability Action
Dermot McCluskey – Deputy Chief Executive, Disability Action
Karen Hall – Policy & Communications Manager, Disability Action

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

Mr Hussey declared an interest as a person with a disability

10:21am Mr McNarry joined the meeting

10:24am Mr Moutray joined the meeting

11:11am The representatives left the meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed to call Departmental officials back to provide further

oral evidence regarding budget reduction to Community Transport

Partnerships and Disability Action.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to Disability Action regarding the reduction

from eight regional Mobility Centres to three.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to Disability Action to ask for further

information on the numbers of people affected in each area with the

reduction in Mobility Centres.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to commission research regarding the benchmarking

of services provided by Disability Action.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to Disability Action regarding the work and

activities carried out by staff employed by Disability Action.

#### 6. Committee Motion on Department for Regional Development Budget

Members considered a draft Committee Motion expressing a lack of confidence in the Department for Regional Development's ability to effectively manage and maintain their budgets.

Mr Hussey indicated that he was unable to support this motion.

Agreed: The Committee agreed, by majority, to table this Motion in the Business

Office with a view to debate this in the House before Summer Recess.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to table a further Motion regarding the reduction in

funding to Community Transport Partnerships and Disability Action in the Business Office with a view to debate this in the House before Summer

Recess.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to call the Minister and

Permanent Secretary to appear before the Committee at the first available

opportunity.

#### 7. EU Matters

Members noted EU Matters May 2015 Update.

11:22am Mr McNarry left the meeting

### 8. Subordinate Legislation not Subject to Assembly Procedure

Members noted:

- The Cycle Routes (Amendment No 2) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015
- The Traffic Weight Restrictions (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015
- The Waiting Restrictions (Clogher) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015
- The Waiting Restrictions (Lisburn City Centre) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015

### 9. SR 2015/244: Londonderry Harbour (Variation of Limits) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development has considered SR 2015/244:

The Londonderry Harbour (Variation of Limits) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015

and has no objection to the rule.

# **10.** Any Other Business

Mr Hussey raised the issue of the cameras being removed from Room 21.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Clerk's Assistant to ask for further

information on this issue.

Mr Dallat raised the issue of the recent accident at the North West 200 road race.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the North West 200 organising Committee

to request a copy of the report into the accident.

11:25am Mr McNarry left the meeting

11:27am Mr Hussey left the meeting

# 11. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 3<sup>rd</sup> June 2015 at 10:00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

11:29am The meeting was adjourned

.....

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 03/06/15