

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 2ND APRIL 2014 ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present:

Mr Jimmy Spratt MLA (Chairperson)
Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Joe Byrne MLA
Mr Alex Easton MLA
Mr Declan McAleer MLA
Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA
Mr David McNarry MLA
Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee) Mr Gavin Ervine (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Mrs Tara McClafferty (Clerical Supervisor) Ms Alison Ferguson (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mrs Brenda Hale MLA Mr Ross Hussey MLA

10:03am The meeting commenced in open session

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairperson's Business

None.

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 26th March 2014.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding the appointment process of Interim Translink Chief

Executive.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding reorganisation of DRD Senior Management Team.

Agreed: The Committee noted further correspondence from the Department for

Regional Development regarding the appointment process of Interim

Translink Chief Executive.

Agreed: The Committee noted an invite to meet Mr Adam Baacke, Director of Campus

Planning and Development at University of Massachusetts Lowell, in

Parliament Buildings on Thursday 3rd April 2014.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence relating to the Investment Strategy for

Northern Ireland – Investing Activity Report for March 2014.

5. Ministerial Briefing

10:06am The Minister and the following official joined the meeting

Danny Kennedy MLA – Minister for Regional Development Richard Pengelly – Permanent Secretary, DRD

The Minister and official presented to the Committee in respect of a range of pertinent issues. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

10:12am Mr McNarry joined the meeting

10:24am Mr Easton joined the meeting

10:51am Mr Byrne left the meeting
 11:01am Mr McNarry left the meeting
 11:03am The Minister and official left the meeting

6. Northern Ireland Executive Office Briefing: EU Matters

11:04am The following officials joined the meeting

Dr Gerry Mulligan – Head of the Northern Ireland Executive Office in Brussels, OFMdFM Tom Reid – Director of Transportation Policy, DRD

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

11:14am	Mr Byrne re-joined the meeting
11:16am	Mr McNarry re-joined the meeting
11:24am	Mr McAleer left the meeting
11:39am	Mr McAleer re-joined the meeting
11:40am	The officials left the meetina

7. Subordinate Legislation not Subject to Assembly Procedure

Members noted:

- The Parking and Waiting Restrictions (Charlesmont Gardens, Armagh) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014
- The Parking Places (Disabled Persons' Vehicles) (Amendment No.2) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014
- The Road Races (Cookstown 100) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014
- The Road Races (Drumhorc Hill Climb) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014
- The Road Races (Tandragee 100) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014
- The Waiting Restrictions (Larne) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014
- The Waiting Restrictions (Londonderry) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

8. SL1: The North Circular Road and Tarry Lane, Lurgan (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development is content with the merits of

the policy proposal.

9. SL1: The Westlink (Busways) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development is content with the merits of

the policy proposal.

10. SR 2014/45: The Rail Vehicle Accessibility Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development has considered SR 2014/45:

The Rail Vehicle Accessibility Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2014 and has no

objection to the rule.

11. SR 2014/46: The Rail Vehicle Accessibility (Application for Exemption Orders) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development has considered SR 2014/46:

The Rail Vehicle Accessibility (Application for Exemption Orders) Regulations

(Northern Ireland) 2014 and has no objection to the rule.

12. SR 2014/82: The Annesborough Road, Lurgan (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development has considered SR 2014/82:

The Annesborough Road, Lurgan (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland)

2014 and has no objection to the rule.

13. Any Other Business

The Chairperson informed Members that the Committee had issued a press release in relation to the appointment of the new Chief Executive Officer of NI Water.

The Chairperson raised the issue of the Committee Forward Work Programme.

Agreed:

The Committee agreed that no business would be scheduled for the meeting of Wednesday 21st May 2014 due to European and Local Council Elections.

14. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 30th April 2014 at 10:00am in CEF Headquarters, 174 Malone Road, Belfast.

11:45am The meeting was adjourned

.....

Mr Jimmy Spratt MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 30/04/14