

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 5TH MARCH 2014 ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present:

Mr Jimmy Spratt MLA (Chairperson)
Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Joe Byrne MLA
Mr Alex Easton MLA
Mr Ross Hussey MLA
Mr Declan McAleer MLA
Mr David McNarry MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee) Mr Oliver Bellew (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Mrs Tara McClafferty (Clerical Supervisor) Ms Alison Ferguson (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mrs Brenda Hale MLA Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

10.04am The meeting commenced in open session

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairperson's Business

Members noted that Chairperson's Business would be dealt with during consideration of the applicable substantive items.

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meetings of 26th February 2014.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for Enterprise,

Trade and Investment regarding the Giro D'Italia and agreed to include the

letter in its Inquiry into the Benefits of Cycling.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for Enterprise,

Trade and Investment regarding Green Investment Banking and low energy

street lighting.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for Agriculture

and Rural Development regarding the Camlough Reservoir.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department in relation to

next generation ticketing.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Guide Dogs NI regarding the

regeneration of Lisburn City Centre and agreed to forward it to the

Department for comment.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for Finance and

Personnel in relation to Financial Transactions Capital.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department in response to

the NI Audit Office Report on Sickness Absence in the NI Public Sector.

Agreed: The Committee noted a response by the Department in relation to its queries

regarding the Belfast Transport Hub.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department in response to

queries relating to the Comptroller and Auditor General's powers to conduct

value for money examinations of the NI Transport Holding Company.

Agreed: The Committee noted departmental correspondence relating to its budget

position.

Agreed: The Committee noted a written statement by the Minister for Regional

Development on diversity in public appointments.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department in response to

queries on road closures and diversions. The Committee agreed to write to the Department seeking a list of the anticipated work and, based on the list, would randomly select the contracts which would be relevant to the query.

5. Belfast Harbour Commissioners Briefing: Belfast Harbour

10:10am The following officials joined the meeting

Dr Leonard O'Hagan CBE DL – Chairman, Belfast Harbour Commissioners Mr Roy Adair – Chief Executive, Belfast Harbour Commissioners Mr Graeme Johnston – Property Director, Belfast Harbour Commissioners Mr Joe O'Neill – Commercial Director, Belfast Harbour Commissioners

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

10:15am	David McNarry joined the meeting
10.35am	Mr McAleer left the meeting
10.42am	Mr Easton left the meeting
10.48am	Mr McAleer re-joined the meeting
10.52am	Mr Hussey left the meeting
10.54am	Mr Maurice Bullick, Finance Director, Belfast Harbour Commission joined the
	meeting
10.59am	Mr Easton re-joined the meeting
10.59am	Mr Lynch left the meeting
11.02am	Mr Lynch re-joined the meeting
11.13am	The officials left the meeting

6. Departmental Briefing: Road Traffic (Speed Limits) Bill

The Chairperson informed members that, as the written briefing which was due to accompany this substantive item was not received within the agreed timescale, the Committee would not be considering the item of business until a later date. The Committee noted that this was the ninth occasion since September 2013 that documentation had not made the agreed deadline.

Agreed:

The Committee agreed to write to the Permanent Secretary expressing its disappointment at, and seeking an explanation for, the ongoing issue of late papers.

The Committee also noted further correspondence from the Department which provided details of the diary commitments for the Minister for Regional Development including foreign visits over the coming weeks. Members noted that, due to those commitments, the Minister would be unavailable to authorise briefings scheduled for the Committee.

7. Subordinate Legislation not Subject to Assembly Procedure

Members noted:

- The Parking Places on Roads (Londonderry) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014
- The One-Way Traffic (Portrush) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014
- The Roads (Speed Limit) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

8. SL1: The Annesborough Road, Lurgan (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed:

That the Committee for Regional Development is content with the merits of the policy proposal.

9. SR 2014/32: The Former Glenshane Road at Ranaghan Bridge, Magherafelt (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed:

That the Committee for Regional Development has considered SR 2014/32: The Former Glenshane Road at Ranaghan Bridge, Magherafelt (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014 and has no objection to the rule.

10. SR 2014/36: The M1/Trunk Road T3 and M1-M2 Link (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed:

That the Committee for Regional Development has considered SR 2014/36: The M1/Trunk Road T3 and M1-M2 Link (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014 and has no objection to the rule.

11. Any Other Business

Agreed:

The Committee agreed to include a visit to the Belfast Harbour Commission in its forward work programme.

12. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 12th March 2014 at 10:00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

11:21am The meeting was adjourned

.....

Mr Jimmy Spratt MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 12/03/14