

COMMITTEE FOR THE OFFICE OF THE FIRST MINISTER AND DEPUTY FIRST MINISTER MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS THURSDAY 26 NOVEMBER 2015 ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Mr Mike Nesbitt (Chairperson)

Mr Chris Lyttle (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Andy Allen Mr Alex Attwood Mr Paul Frew Mr Gordon Lyons Mr Alex Maskey

Apologies: Ms Megan Fearon

Mr David McIlveen Mr Stephen Moutray

In Attendance: Mrs Kathy O'Hanlon (Assembly Clerk)

Miss Karen Jardine (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Stephen Magee (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Innis Mennie (Clerical Officer)

Mr Alyn Hicks (Bill Team - Item 11 only)

The meeting began in public session at 2.13pm.

Mr Lyons left the meeting at 3.29pm.

Mr Frew left the meeting at 3.29pm.

6. European Commission Work Programme 2016

The Committee considered an Assembly Research and Information Service analysis paper on the European Commission Work programme for 2016. Members also noted the UK Government Explanatory Memorandum on the European Commission Work Programme for 2016; and that the House of Lords will be writing to the European Commission with views on the Work Programme.

Agreed:

The Committee agreed to forward the RaISe paper to the House of Lords Committee, and also to the relevant committees in the House of Commons, the Scottish Parliament and the National Assembly for Wales for information.

The Committee noted a draft commissioning letter to statutory committees and a template for response as part of its information gathering exercise for the annual report on Assembly Committee European Priorities.

Agreed:

The Committee agreed to issue the letter and template to statutory committees, along with the RaISe analysis of the European Commission Work Programme for 2016 and the UK Government Explanatory Memorandum.

The Committee noted a draft letter to stakeholders requesting input to the information gathering exercise for the annual report on Assembly Committee European Priorities.

Agreed:

The Committee agreed to issue the correspondence to the relevant stakeholders, including the Department, MEPs, the Committee of the Regions and the European and Economic Social Committee.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 4.03 pm.

Committee for the Office of the First Minister and deputy First Minister

[Extract]