

# COMMITTEE FOR THE OFFICE OF THE FIRST MINISTER AND DEPUTY FIRST MINISTER MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS WEDNESDAY 5 MARCH 2014 ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present:	Mr Mike Nesbitt (Chairperson) Mr Chris Lyttle (Deputy Chairperson) Mr Alex Attwood Mr Leslie Cree Miss Meagan Fearon Mr Alex Maskey Ms Bronwyn McGahan Mr Stephen Moutray Mr George Robinson Mr Jimmy Spratt
Apologies:	Mrs Brenda Hale
In Attendance:	Mrs Shauna Mageean (Assembly Clerk) Mr Keith McBride (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Mr Stephen Magee (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Marion Johnson (Clerical Officer)

The meeting began at 2.03 pm in public session

# 1. Apologies

As above.

# 2. Chairperson's Business

# Pre-legislative Briefing on Institutional Review

The Committee noted correspondence from the Department advising that the prelegislative briefing on Institutional Review would need to be rescheduled as officials are not in a position to brief the Committee at this time.

### Committee for the Administration of Justice

The Chairperson considered a paper from the Committee for the Administration of Justice on the proposed Equality and Good Relations Commission.

*Agreed:* The Committee agreed to forward a copy of the paper to the Department for comment.

### Current Invitations

The Committee noted the list of current invitations.

### Mr Robinson left the meeting at 2.06 p.m.

#### St Patrick's Day Events

The Chairperson advised Members that the Deputy Chairperson was unable to attend the St Patrick's Day events in Washington. The Chairperson advised Members that the Deputy Chairperson was available to Chair next week's Committee meeting.

*Agreed:* The Committee agreed to have a Committee meeting on 12 March 2014.

### 3. Draft Minutes of the meeting held on 26 February 2014

*Agreed*: The draft minutes of the proceedings of the 26 February 2014 were agreed by the Committee.

### 4. Matters Arising

### Private Member's Bill - Children's Services Co-operation

The Committee noted a response from the Department advising that junior Ministers would be meeting with the sponsor of the Bill to discuss the proposals in more detail.

### Maze/Long Kesh and Shackleton Updates

The Committee noted the updates provided by the Department in relation to the Maze/Long Kesh and Shackleton sites.

### Gender Advisory Panel

The Committee noted a response from the Department providing information on the composition of the Gender Advisory Panel.

### Committee for Social Development

The Committee noted a response from the Committee for Social Development in relation to the Committee's Report on the Delivering Social Change Signature Programmes Event.

#### List of Outstanding Issues

The Committee noted the list of outstanding issues.

### 5. Correspondence

### Development Framework for Ebrington

The Committee noted a copy of correspondence from the Department providing an update on the current position regarding the Development Framework for Ebrington.

# Together: Building a United Community

The Committee considered correspondence from the Department providing an analysis of feedback from participants following the United Youth Programme Design Day.

*Mr Maskey joined the meeting at 2.09 p.m.* 

*Agreed:* The Committee agreed to write to the Department to seek further information on the actions it is taking in relation to feedback received on Stage 1.

### Committee for Employment and Learning

The Committee noted a copy of correspondence from the Committee for Employment and Learning to the Department in relation to the Gender Pay Gap.

#### Committee for Enterprise, Trade and Investment

The Committee noted a copy of a response from the Committee for enterprise, Trade and Investment to the department in relation to meetings with the Royal Bank of Scotland and Ulster Bank.

### Investing Activity Report

The Committee noted a copy of February's Investment Strategy Investing Activity Report.

#### Rainbow Project

The Committee considered a request from the Rainbow Project to meet with the Chairperson to discuss the establishment of an Equality and Good Relations Commission.

*Agreed:* The Committee agreed that the Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson and any other interested Members would meet with the Rainbow Project.

### 6. Head of the Civil Service

*The Head of the Civil Service and a Departmental official joined the meeting at 2.11 p.m.* 

Mr Robinson re-joined the meeting at 2.13 p.m.

*Mr Attwood joined the meeting at 2.29 p.m.* 

Miss Fearon joined the meeting at 2.48 p.m.

Head of the Civil Service, Dr Malcolm McKibbin and Departmental official, Mr Neill Jackson briefed the Committee on interaction and engagement between the Department and the Committee. Questions and discussion followed.

*The Head of the Civil Service and the Departmental official left the meeting at 2.48 p.m.* 

#### 7. Review of the Victims and Survivors Service

The Commissioner for Victims and Survivors joined the meeting at 2.56 p.m. *Mr Cree left the meeting at 3.15 p.m.* 

The Commissioner for Victims and Survivors, Ms Kathryn Stone and the Secretary to the Commission, Mr John Beggs briefed the Committee on Review of the Victims and Survivors Service. Questions and discussion followed.

Mr Lyttle joined the meeting at 3.45 p.m. Mr Robinson left the meeting at 3.45 p.m. The Commissioner for Victims and Survivors left the meeting at 3.46 p.m.

Departmental officials joined the meeting at 3.47 p.m. Ms McGahan left the meeting at 3.57 p.m. Mr Moutray left the meeting at 4.31 p.m. Mr Lyttle left the meeting at 4.44 p.m.

Departmental officials, Dr Denis McMahon and Mr Ricky Irwin briefed the Committee on Review of the Victims and Survivors Service. Questions and discussion followed. Departmental officials agreed to provide further information on a number of issues.

Departmental officials joined the meeting at 4.56 p.m.

*Agreed:* The Committee agreed to schedule a briefing from the Chair of the Board of the Victims and Survivors Service into the Forward Work Programme.

#### 8. Any Other Business

None.

# 9. Date, Time and Location of next meeting

The next meeting will be held at 2 p.m. on Wednesday 12 March 2014, in Room 30, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 4.58 p.m.

Committee for the Office of the First Minister and deputy First Minister