

COMMITTEE FOR THE OFFICE OF THE FIRST MINISTER AND DEPUTY FIRST MINISTER MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS WEDNESDAY 18 SEPTEMBER 2013 ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Mr Mike Nesbitt (Chairperson)

Mr Chris Lyttle (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Leslie Cree

Mr Colum Eastwood Miss Megan Fearon Mrs Brenda Hale Mr Alex Maskey

Ms Bronwyn McGahan Mr George Robinson Mr Jimmy Spratt

Apologies: Mr Stephen Moutray

In Attendance: Mrs Shauna Mageean (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Keith McBride (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Stephen Magee (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Marion Johnson (Clerical Officer)

The meeting began at 2.02 pm in public session.

1. Apologies

As detailed above.

2. Chairperson's Business

Current Invitations

The Committee noted the list of current invitations.

3. Draft Minutes of the meeting held on 11 September 2013

Agreed: The draft minutes of the proceedings of the 11 September 2013

were agreed by the Committee.

4. Matters Arising

List of Outstanding Issues

The Committee noted the list of outstanding issues.

5. Correspondence

Royal Society for the Protection of Birds

The Committee considered a copy of correspondence from the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds to the Department of Education in relation to the Planning Bill.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to forward the correspondence

to the Department for comment.

Outstanding Post Project Evaluations

The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for Finance and Personnel providing details of outstanding post project evaluations.

Committee for Employment and Learning

The Committee considered correspondence from the Committee for Employment and Learning in relation to an outstanding response from OFMDFM.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request an

urgent response.

Committee for Health, Social Services and Public Safety

Agreed: The Committee agreed to forward a response from the

Department to the Committee for Health, Social Services and

Public Safety in relation to suicide prevention.

Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission

The Committee noted a copy correspondence from the Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission to the Secretary of State for Justice in relation to the engagement of the NI Executive in the preparation of the UK Government's midterm report on the UPR International Covenant on Economic Social and Cultural Rights.

6. Delivering Social Change Signature Projects

Departmental officials joined the meeting at 2.09 p.m.

Mr Eastwood left the meeting at 2.27 p.m.

Mr Lyttle joined the meeting at 2.39 p.m.

Miss Fearon left the meeting at 2.42 p.m.

Departmental officials Dr Denis McMahon and Ms Lucy Marten provided the Committee with an overview of the Department's role in co-ordinating and monitoring the delivery of the Signature Projects. Questions and discussion followed.

Departmental officials left the meeting at 2.46 p.m.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to hold a stakeholder event on

Wednesday 13 November on the Signature Projects.

7. End of Session Report

Agreed: The Committee agreed its End of Session Report and that it be

published on the Committee's webpage.

The meeting moved into closed session at 2.49 p.m.

8. United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child

Departmental Officials joined the meeting at 2.49 p.m.

Mr Lyttle left the meeting at 2.59 p.m.

Miss Fearon re-joined the meeting at 2.59 p.m.

Mr Spratt left the meeting at 3.01 p.m.

Mr Eastwood left the meeting at 3.06 p.m.

Departmental officials Mrs Margaret-Rose McNaughton and Mr Sean Brolly briefed the Committee on the Executive's input to the UK Government State Report on the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child. Questions and discussion followed.

Departmental officials left the meeting at 3.24 p.m.

9. Forward Work Programme

The Committee note the Forward Work Programme.

10. Any Other Business

None

11. Date, Time and Location of next meeting

The next meeting will be held in on Wednesday 25 September 2013 2.00 p.m. in Room 30, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 3.25 pm

Mr Mike Nesbitt MLA Chairperson, Committee for the Office of the First Minister and deputy First Minister