

COMMITTEE FOR THE EXECUTIVE OFFICE

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS WEDNESDAY 8 JUNE 2016 ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Mr Mike Nesbitt (Chairperson)

Mr Danny Kennedy (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Cathal Boylan Ms Pam Cameron Mr William Irwin Mr Phillip Logan Mr Seán Lynch Mr Richie McPhillips

Mr Ian Milne

Mr Christopher Stalford

Apologies: Mr Stewart Dickson

In Attendance: Mrs Kathy O'Hanlon (Assembly Clerk)

Miss Karen Jardine (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Stephen Magee (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Andrienne Magee (Clerical Officer)

The meeting opened in public session at 2.01pm.

1. Apologies

Apologies are noted above.

2. Chair's Business

NI Assembly Business Trust

The Committee noted an invitation to the NI Assembly Business Trust (NIABT) Briefing - 'Insight into New Assembly Committees' which is to be held in the Long Gallery on Monday 13 June 2016.

Agreed: Members agreed that the Chairperson would represent the

Committee at the NIABT Briefing.

Centre for Cross Border Studies

The Committee noted an invitation from the Centre for Cross border Studies to a public briefing on 'A Study of Cross-Border Flows within the Agri-Food Sector: A Snapshot of Four Border Counties' which is to be held in the NSMC Headquarters, Armagh on Wednesday 15 June 2016.

NIACRO

The Committee noted an invitation from Mr Alastair Ross MLA on behalf of NIACRO to a seminar on Positive Youth Justice which is to be held in Parliament Buildings on Tuesday 21 June 2016.

Current Committee Invitations

The Committee noted the list of current invitations.

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The draft minutes of the proceedings of 1 June 2016 were agreed

by the Committee.

4. Matters Arising

The Committee noted a briefing paper from the Clerk summarising a number of protocols agreed by the Committee at the previous week's meeting.

Agreed: To assist in its forthcoming strategic planning meeting, the

Committee agreed to request that Assembly Research identifies potential witnesses with experience in outcomes-based approaches

that the Committee may wish to hear from in the autumn.

5. First Day brief – Ministerial briefing

The First Minister, deputy First Minister and junior Ministers joined the meeting at 2.04pm.

Mrs Arlene Foster, First Minister; Mr Martin McGuinness, deputy First Minister; junior Minister Fearon; and junior Minister Ross briefed the Committee on the work of the Executive Office and its key issues and priorities; the draft Programme for Government Framework 2016-21; and the *Fresh Start* Panel Report on the Disbandment of Paramilitary Groups in Northern Ireland.

A question and answer session followed. The briefing was recorded by Hansard.

Mr Boylan declared an interest as a member of the Southern Social Investment Fund Steering Group.

The Ministers left the meeting at 4.04 pm.

6. Correspondence

PRONI Annual Report 2013

The Committee noted correspondence from the Department of Culture Arts and Leisure regarding the PRONI Deputy Keeper of the Records Annual Report 2013-14.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to copy the report to the Committee for Communities.

European Commission Work Programme

The Committee noted a copy letter from the European Commission to the House of Lords European Committee regarding that Committee's Opinion concerning the Commission Work Programme for 2016.

Public Bodies and Public Appointments 2014/15

The Committee noted correspondence from the Executive Office regarding the Annual Report on Public Bodies and Public Appointments 2014-15.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to copy the report to Statutory Committees.

Delivering Social Change

The Committee noted correspondence from the Executive Office regarding the Delivering Social Change Update for May 2016.

7. Forward Work Programme

Members considered the Committee's draft Forward Work Programme for the period before summer recess.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it was content to receive a briefing from the Commissioner for Victims and Survivors on Wednesday 29 June.

Members noted the informal meeting arranged with the Dutch Ambassador in the context of the Dutch EU Presidency scheduled for Thursday 16 June at 2.30pm in Room 21.

Agreed: Members agreed to advise the Clerk regarding their availability to attend the meeting with the Dutch Ambassador.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the draft Forward Work Programme for the period before summer recess.

8. Any Other Business

No other business.

9. Date, time and place of next meeting

The next meeting will be held in Room 30 on Wednesday 15 June 2016 at 2 p.m.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 4.07 pm.

Mr Mike Nesbitt MLA Chairperson, Committee for the Executive Office