

COMMITTEE FOR THE ENVIRONMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY, 10 DECEMBER 2015

SENATE CHAMBER, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Ms Anna Lo MLA (Chairperson)

Mrs Pam Cameron MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Cathal Boylan MLA Mr Paul Girvan MLA Mr Alban Maginness MLA Mr Barry McElduff MLA

Mr Ian Milne MLA

Mrs Sandra Overend MLA Mr George Robinson MLA

In Attendance: Miss Ciara McKay (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Mark McQuade (Assistant Clerk) Mr Neil Sedgewick (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Sharon Young (Clerical Officer)

Apologies: Ms Claire Hanna MLA

Mr William Irwin MLA

The meeting opened in public session at 10.10am.

6. Scrap Metal Dealers Bill - Departmental Briefing.

Officials joined the meeting at 11.42am.

The Committee was briefed by:

Mr Brendan Forde Environmental Policy Division, Department of

the Environment

Ms Mairead Adams Environmental Policy Division, Department of

the Environment

Ms Helen Lewis Environmental Policy Division, Department of

the Environment

Mr Milne rejoined the meeting at 12.04pm.

Agreed: Officials agreed to provide the Committee with further information on the level of fines imposed for environmental offences.

Officials left the meeting at 12.41pm.

7. Scrap Metal Dealers Bill – Briefing form the Northern Ireland Utilities Working Group on Metal Theft

Witnesses joined the meeting at 12.42pm.

The Committee was briefed by:

Mr George Ong Chief Risk Officer, NI Water, NI Utilities

Working Group

Mr Paul Irving Land & Property Security Officer, NIE

Networks, NI Utilities Working Group

Mr Eugene O'Brien Infrastructure Executive, Translink, NI Utilities

Working Group

Mr Eddie Lynn Asst. Lighting Engineer, Transport NI, NI

Utilities Working Group

Mr Robinson left the meeting at 12.42pm.

Mr Milne left the meeting at 12.47pm.

Mr Maginness rejoined the meeting at 1.12pm.

Witnesses left the meeting at 1.13pm.

Mr Girvan left the meeting at 1.13pm.

[Extract]