

### COMMITTEE FOR THE ENVIRONMENT

### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

#### **MONDAY, 30 MARCH 2015**

### SENATE CHAMBER, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Ms Anna Lo MLA (Chairperson)

Mrs Pam Cameron MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Cathal Boylan MLA Mr Colum Eastwood MLA Mr Alban Maginness MLA Mr Barry McElduff MLA

Mr Ian Milne MLA Lord Morrow MLA

Mrs Sandra Overend MLA

Mr Peter Weir MLA

In Attendance: Miss Ciara McKay (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Alyn Hicks (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Mr Jonathan Lamont (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Malcolm Collins (Clerical Officer)

Apologies: Mr Ian McCrea MLA

The meeting began at 3.06pm in public session.

### 1. Apologies

Apologies were as above.

# 2. Chairperson's Business

The Committee noted the proposal to hold a meeting with stakeholder present at the Committee visit to Vito and Metabolan, to discuss developments in alternative approaches to handling waste.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to schedule a meeting with Renew and relevant stakeholders after its formal Committee meeting on 16th April 2015.

### 3. Budget 2015-16 - Briefing from the Minister

The Committee noted correspondence from Outdoor Recreation, Community Places and Butterfly Conservation regarding the impact of reductions in funding.

The Committee was briefed by:

Mr Mark H Durkan Minister of the Environment

Mr Leo O'Reilly Permanent Secretary

Ms Siobhan Lynn Finance and Business Planning Division

Mr Cathal Boylan left the meeting at 3.51 pm. Mr Colum Eastwood left the meeting at 4.29 pm.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write a letter of thanks to the Minister for briefing the Committee, inviting him and his officials to return at the end of April for a progress report in his urgent engagement with the environment sector. The Committee also agreed to ask the Minister whether he has had any discussions with other departments, particularly DARD and DETI, regarding available money that could be used toward protecting the environment.

## 4. Any Other Business

No other business was discussed.

## 5. Date, Time and Place of next meeting

The Committee agreed that its next meeting will be held at 10.00am on Thursday 16th April 2015 in the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings.

*The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 4.34pm.* 

Anna Lo, MLA Chairperson, Committee for the Environment 16 April 2015