

COMMITTEE FOR THE ENVIRONMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY, 2 FEBRUARY 2016

SENATE CHAMBER, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Ms Anna Lo MLA (Chairperson)

Mrs Pam Cameron MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr William Irwin MLA Mr Barry McElduff MLA Mr Alban Maginness MLA

Mr Ian Milne MLA

Mr Alastair Patterson MLA Mr George Robinson MLA

In Attendance: Miss Ciara McKay (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Mark McQuade (Assistant Clerk) Mr Neil Sedgewick (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Sharon Young (Clerical Officer)

Apologies: Mr Cathal Boylan MLA

Mr Paul Girvan MLA Ms Claire Hanna MLA

The meeting began in public session at 12.12pm.

1. Apologies.

The apologies are noted above.

The Chairperson welcomed Mr Patterson to the Committee.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to Mrs Overend to thank her for her contribution to the Committee.

2. The Scrap Metal Dealers Bill

The official joined the meeting at 12.13pm

The Committee was briefed by:

Mr Brendan Forde Environmental Policy Division, DOE

Mr Robinson joined the meeting at 12.22pm.

Mr Maginness left the meeting at 12.24pm.

Mr Milne left the meeting at 12.32pm.

Mr Irwin left the meeting at 12.42pm.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to hold an additional meeting on Tuesday 9th February 2016, to consider the amendments that the Department intends to table at Consideration Stage of the Scrap Metal Dealers Bill.

The official left the meeting at 12.57pm

3. Date, time and Place of next meeting

The Committee noted that its next meeting will be held at 10.00am on Thursday 4th February 2016 in the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 1.01pm.

Anna Lo, MLA Chairperson, Committee for the Environment 11 February 2016