

COMMITTEE FOR THE ENVIRONMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY, 14 JANUARY 2016

SENATE CHAMBER, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Mr Neil Sedgewick (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Sharon Young (Clerical Officer)

Present:	Ms Anna Lo MLA (Chairperson) Mr Cathal Boylan MLA Mr Paul Girvan MLA Mr William Irwin MLA Mr Alban Maginness MLA Mr Barry McElduff MLA Mr Ian Milne MLA Mrs Sandra Overend MLA
In Attendance:	Miss Ciara McKay (Assembly Clerk) Mr Mark McQuade (Assistant Clerk)

Apologies:	Mrs Pam Cameron MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
	Ms Claire Hanna MLA
	Mr George Robinson MLA

The meeting opened in public session at 11.03am.

1. Apologies.

The apologies are noted above.

2. Chairperson's Business

There was no Chairperson's Business.

3. Minutes

The minutes from the meeting held on 7th January 2016 were agreed.

4. Matters arising

There was no matter arising.

5. Budget 2016/17, Transfer of current functions and Departmental restructuring – Departmental briefing

Officials joined the meeting at 11.04am.

The Committee was briefed by:

Mr Anthony Carleton	Director of Finance and Business Planning
Mc Sichhan Lynn	Division.
Ms Siobhan Lynn	Finance & Business Planning Division.
Mr John Napier	Acting Director, Human Resources.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it would consider the two briefings on the In-year Monitoring position and 16/17 Budget and the Transfer of the Department's functions together.

Agreed: Officials agreed to provide the Committee with its strategic plan, looking at how functions will be delivered in the new department. Officials also agreed to provide information on the Department's considerations on new and collaborative thinking on how the new structures can generate more synergy and joined up working.

Mr McElduff joined the meeting at 11.39am. Mr Maginness joined the meeting at 11.45am.

Officials left the meeting at 11.59am.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to ask for a detailed breakdown of provisions and functions in the new departments and how much each provision will cost.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it would consider a draft response for the Committee for OFMDFM on the Transfer of Functions Order at next week's meeting. The Committee noted the responses from stakeholders to the Committee's request for comments on the Transfer of Functions Order.

6. The Scrap Metal Dealers Bill – Briefing from Mr Roy Beggs

The sponsor of the Bill, Mr Beggs, joined the meeting at 12.00pm.

The Committee was briefed by: Mr Roy Beggs MLA

Mr Irwin left the meeting at 12.39pm. The sponsor of the Bill, Mr Beggs, left the meeting at 12.43pm.

Agreed: The Committee agreed a list of scrap metal dealers to contact regarding the Bill.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to invite Departmental officials to brief it at its next meeting, to address the issues raised.

Mr Boylan left the meeting at 12.51pm.

7. Consultation on the Mutual Recognition of Professional Qualifications Directive

The Committee noted correspondence from the Department regarding a consultation on the Mutual Recognition of Professional Qualifications Directive.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to request a synopsis of responses from the Department when this becomes available.

8. SL1 - The Waste Management Licensing (Amendment) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2016

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the PSNI seeking its views on the propose Regulations; and to ascertain from the Department how these Regulations relate to the provisions in the Scrap Metal Dealers Bill, before considering the SL1.

9. SL1 - The Draft Change of Council Name (Derry and Strabane City Council) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2016

The Committee considered the Draft Change of Council Name (Derry and Strabane City Council) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2016.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it was content for the Department to proceed with the proposed statutory rule.

10. SL1 - The Draft Change of District Name (Derry and Strabane) Order (Northern Ireland) 2016

The Committee considered the Draft Change of District Name (Derry and Strabane) Order (Northern Ireland) 2016.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it was content for the Department to proceed with the proposed statutory rule.

11. SL1 - The Draft Change of District Name (Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon) Order (Northern Ireland) 2016

The Committee considered the Draft Change of District Name (Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon) Order (Northern Ireland) 2016.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it was content for the Department to proceed with the proposed statutory rule.

12. SL1 - The Draft Change of District Name (North Down and Ards) Order (Northern Ireland) 2016

The Committee considered the Draft Change of District Name (North Down and Ards) Order (Northern Ireland) 2016.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it was content for the Department to proceed with the proposed statutory rule.

13. SR 2015/425 The Fluorinated Greenhouse Gases Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2015

Question put and agreed:

"The Committee for the Environment has considered SR 2015/425 The Fluorinated Greenhouse Gases Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2015 and, subject to the report of the Examiner of Statutory Rules, has no objection to the Rule."

14. Correspondence

The Committee noted a letter from the Minister informing the Committee of his decision to approve planning permission for the former Ebrington Barracks Site.

The Committee noted a letter from the Department regarding policies that it will be consulting on during the period January to March 2016.

The Committee noted a copy of the Department's response to Finance & Personnel Committee regarding the Rates Amendment Bill.

The Committee noted a memo from the Committee for the Office of the First Minister and deputy First Minister regarding the Executive's investment strategy.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department for information on water and waste water schemes.

15. Forward Work Programme

Agreed: The Committee agreed its Forward Work Programme.

16. Any Other Business

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department for an update on *ETSU-97* guidelines on wind turbine noise.

17. Date, Time and Place of next meeting.

The Committee noted that its next meeting will be held at 10.00am on Thursday 21st January 2016 in the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 1.06pm.

Anna Lo, MLA Chairperson, Committee for the Environment 21 January 2016