

#### COMMITTEE FOR THE ENVIRONMENT

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

# **TUESDAY, 12 JANUARY 2016**

## **ROOM 29, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS**

Present: Ms Anna Lo MLA (Chairperson)

Mrs Pam Cameron MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Cathal Boylan MLA Mr Paul Girvan MLA Ms Claire Hanna MLA Mr Alban Maginness MLA Mr Barry McElduff MLA

Mr Ian Milne MLA

Mrs Sandra Overend MLA

In Attendance: Miss Ciara McKay (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Mark McQuade (Assistant Clerk) Mr Neil Sedgewick (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Sharon Young (Clerical Officer)

Apologies: Mr William Irwin MLA

Mr George Robinson MLA

The meeting opened in public session at 1.21pm.

## 1. Apologies.

The apologies are noted above.

## 2. Chairpersons Business

No Chairpersons business was discussed.

# 3. Scrap Metal Dealers Bill – Oral briefing from Mr Roy Beggs

The sponsor of the Bill, Mr Roy Beggs, joined the meeting at 1.22pm.

The Committee was briefed on the Bill by:

Mr Roy Beggs MLA.

Mr Maginness joined the meeting at 1.23pm. Ms Hanna joined the meeting at 1.29pm. Mr Boylan joined the meeting at 1.32pm. Mr McElduff left the meeting at 2.00pm.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to continue with the oral briefing, while the meeting remained quorate, but that a further session should be scheduled for Thursday 14<sup>th</sup> January 2016 to continue with the oral evidence and to allow sufficient time for Members to ask questions.

Mr Milne left the meeting at 2.02pm. Mr Boylan left the meeting at 2.02pm. Mr Maginness left the meeting at 2.02pm. Ms Cameron left the meeting at 2.13pm. Ms Hanna left the meeting at 2.14pm.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 2.14pm as quorum was lost.

Anna Lo, MLA Chairperson, Committee for the Environment 21 January 2016