

Northern Ireland Assembly Committee for Education MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS TUESDAY 11 March 2014 Room 21, Parliament Buildings

Present:

Mervyn Storey MLA (Chairperson) Danny Kinahan MLA (Deputy Chairperson) Jo-Anne Dobson MLA Chris Hazzard MLA Maeve McLaughlin MLA Stephen Moutray MLA Robin Newton MLA Seán Rogers MLA

In Attendance:

Peter McCallion (Assembly Clerk) Karen Jardine (Senior Assistant Assembly Clerk) Sharon McGurk (Clerical Supervisor) Sharon Young (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Jonathan Craig MLA

The meeting commenced in public session at 12.33pm

1. Apologies

Apologies were recorded as above.

2. Inquiry into the Education and Training Inspectorate and School Improvement Process – Briefing from the General Teaching Council NI.

The following witnesses joined the meeting at 12.33pm

Dr Carmel Gallagher, Registrar, General Teaching Council NI; Colm Davis, Principal, Torbank Special School; and Bryan Jess, Principal, Carrick Primary School, Lurgan.

The briefing was followed by a question and answer session and was recorded by Hansard.

12.36pm The Chairperson left the meeting and the Deputy Chairperson assumed the Chair.

The Committee consequently lost its decision-making quorum but, under the provisions of Standing Order 49(5), continued to hear evidence.

12.48pm Maeve McLaughlin joined the meeting.

12.57pm Jo-Anne Dobson joined the meeting.

1.01pm The Chairperson returned to the meeting and resumed the Chair.

1.04pm Stephen Moutray joined the meeting.

1.21pm Stephen Moutray left the meeting.

1.28pm Jo-Anne Dobson left the meeting.

1.39pm Seán Rogers left the meeting.

1.40pm Danny Kinahan left the meeting.

The Committee consequently lost its decision-making quorum but, under the provisions of Standing Order 49(5), continued to hear evidence.

The witnesses left at 1.49pm.

3. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

4. Date, Time, Place of Next Meeting

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday 12 March 2014 at 10.00am in Room 29, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 1.49pm.

Mervyn Storey Chairperson, Committee for Education 19 March 2014