

Committee for Infrastructure

Minutes of Proceedings

14 May 2025

Meeting Location: Room 29, Parliament Buildings

| Present: | Mrs Deborah Erskine MLA (Chairperson) |
|----------------|--|
| | Mr John Stewart MLA (Deputy Chairperson) |
| | Mr Cathal Boylan MLA |
| | Mr Keith Buchanan MLA |
| | Mr Stephen Dunne MLA |
| | Mr Andrew McMurray MLA |
| | Mr Peter McReynolds MLA |
| | |
| Apologies: | Ms Nicola Brogan MLA |
| | |
| | |
| In Attendance: | Mr Michael Potter (Assembly Clerk) |
| | Mr Phil Pateman (Assistant Assembly Clerk) |
| | Mr Jonathan Lawless (Clerical Supervisor) |
| | Mr Oliver Briant (Clerical Officer) |
| | |

The meeting commenced in public session at 10:04 am.



1. Apologies

As above.

2. Declaration of Interests

Mrs Deborah Erskine declared an interest stating that she has family members who are land owners along the A5 route.

3. Chairperson's Business

Mr Peter McReynolds joined the meeting at 10:06 am.

The Chairperson highlighted the recent adjournment debate relating to Hill Street, Belfast, during which the Minister for Infrastructure highlighted that it was the Department's intention to engage/consult with stakeholders on the plans for the pedestrianisation the area.

Agreed: To write to Dfl seeking detail on how and it intends to consult/engage with stakeholders and how this work will be progressed as highlighted in the course of the Minister's contribution to the recent adjournment debate.

4. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday, 14 May 2025.



5. Matters Arising

None.

6. Correspondence

Response from the Police Service for Northern Ireland to Committee correspondence regarding Operation Lifesaver

Agreed: To schedule a briefing in the Forward Work Programme at an appropriate date.

The Committee noted the following items of correspondence:

- Monthly update from the Department for Infrastructure on Belfast Traffic Congestion; and
- The Department for Infrastructure and The Consumer Council for Northern Ireland Memorandum of Understanding.

7. Qualification Requirements of Chartered Surveyors when acting on behalf landowners - Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors

The representatives joined the meeting at 10:08 am:

- Emmet McDonough-Brown Senior Public Affairs Officer Northern Ireland, RICS; and
- Garrett O'Hare, RICS NI Regional Board.

The evidence session was reported by Hansard.



The representatives provided an overview of Qualification Requirements of Chartered Surveyors when acting on behalf landowners.

A question and answer session followed.

Mr Cathal Boylan left the meeting at 10:47 am

The representatives left the meeting at 10:48 am.

- Agreed: To write to the Committee for Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs highlighting the recent oral evidence from the RICS forwarding the relevant papers for information.
- Agreed: To write to Land and Property Services to ask for timescales for compensation payments to landowners (e.g. for the upgrades of the A6, A8 and A32).

8. SL1s - Implementation of the Reservoirs Act (Northern Ireland) 2015 – Department for Infrastructure – Oral Evidence

The Departmental officials joined the meeting at 10:52 am:

- Alison Clydesdale Director Water and Drainage Policy Division;
- Gary Quinn Director of Rivers Operations; and
- Jonathan McKee Director of Rivers Development.

Mr Cathal Boylan re-joined the meeting at 10:52 am.

The evidence session was reported by Hansard.

The departmental officials provided an update on the SL1s - Implementation of the Reservoirs Act (Northern Ireland) 2015.

A question and answer session followed.

The departmental officials left the meeting at 11:49 am.

Mr John Stewart left the meeting at 11:51 am.



Agreed: To write to Dfl seeking:

- Confirmation that it has undertaken to notify the Committee of the anticipated timescales for the consultation proposed for the grants scheme when available.
- Provision of costs of remedial works completed to reservoirs owned/operated by it since enactment of the Act and detail of any future work proposed; and
- To schedule a further evidence session in closed session.

The Committee suspended at 11:52 am

The Committee recommenced in public session at 12:00 pm with the following members present:

Present: Mrs Deborah Erskine MLA (Chairperson)

Mr John Stewart MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Cathal Boylan MLA

Mr Keith Buchanan MLA

Mr Stephen Dunne MLA

Mr Andrew McMurray MLA

Mr Peter McReynolds MLA

9. Governance and Funding Models in the Water Service Industry – Research and Information Service – Oral Briefing

The research officer joined the meeting at 12:00 pm:

• Des McKibbin, Research Officer

The evidence session was reported by Hansard.

The researcher provided an overview of the Governance and Funding Models in the Water Service Industry.



A question and answer session followed.

The researcher left the meeting at 12:42 pm.

10. Forward Work Programme

The Committee considered the draft Forward Work Programme.

Agreed: To proceed with the scheduled evidence as set out in the draft Forward Work Programme and to reflect to any changes agreed in the course of the meeting.

11. Any Other Business

None.

12. Date, Time and Place of next meeting

The next meeting will be on Wednesday, 21 May 2025 at 10:00 am in Room 29, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:46 pm.



Mrs Deborah Erskine Chairperson, Committee for Infrastructure

21 May 2025