

Committee for Infrastructure

Minutes of Proceedings

29 May 2024

Meeting Location: Project Accommodation Block, Belfast Grand Central Station Transport Hub

 Present:
 Mrs Deborah Erskine MLA (Chairperson)

Mr John Stewart MLA (Deputy Chairperson) Mr Danny Baker MLA

Mr Cathal Boylan MLA

Mr Keith Buchanan MLA

Mr Stephen Dunne MLA

Mr Andrew McMurray MLA

Mr Peter McReynolds MLA

Apologies: Mr Mark Durkan MLA

In Attendance: Mrs Kathy O'Hanlon (Assembly Clerk) Mr Phil Pateman (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Mr William Kinnear (Clerical Officer)

The meeting commenced in public session at 10:05 am.



1. Apologies

As above.

2. Declaration of Interests

None.

3. Chairperson's Business

None

4. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday, 22 May 2024.

5. Matters Arising

None.

6.Correspondence

The Committee noted the following items of correspondence:

• Correspondence from the Chairperson of the Public Accounts Committee to the Permanent Secretary of the Departure of Infrastructure (DfI) inviting him to



provide oral evidence on the Memorandum of Reply to its report on 'Planning in Northern Ireland'.

- Response from the Minister for Infrastructure to the Committee's request that DfI submit a response to HM Treasury's consultation on the treatment of Value Added Tax (VAT) for private hire vehicles.
- Correspondence from Dfl regarding the appointment of Non-Executive Councillor Members to the Board of the Warrenpoint Harbour Authority.
- Committee for Finance's report 'Engagement on the 2024-25 Draft Executive Budget'.

7.Budget 2024-25 – Department for Infrastructure oral evidence

The following Departmental officials joined the meeting at 10:07 am:

- Declan McGeown, Deputy Secretary Water and Departmental Delivery Group, Dfl;
- Julie Thompson, Deputy Secretary Climate, Planning and Public Transport Group, Dfl;
- Colin Woods, Deputy Secretary Transport & Roads Asset Management Group, Dfl; and
- Susan Anderson, Director of Finance, Dfl.

The officials provided the Committee with an overview of the indicative capital and resource budget allocations for the 2024-25 financial year.

John Stewart joined the meeting at 10:15 am.

A question and answer session followed.

The oral evidence session was reported by Hansard.

The officials agreed to provide further information as requested during the evidence session.

The officials left the meeting at 11:06 am.



8. Public Transport Safety - Translink - Oral Evidence

The following representatives joined the meeting at 11:06 am:

- Chris Conway Chief Executive, Translink; and
- Ian Campbell Director of Service Operations, Translink.

The representatives provided the Committee with an overview of the initiatives and measures to ensure the safe operation of the public transport network.

The representatives left the meeting at 11:46 pm.

9. Subordinate Legislation – SL1s – Not Subject to Assembly Proceedings

The Committee noted the following proposals for Subordinate Legislation not subject to Assembly Proceedings:

- SL1 The Road Races (Loughgall Stages Rally) Order (Northern Ireland) 2024.
- SL1 The Road Races (Garron Point Hill Climb) Order (Northern Ireland) 2024.

10. Forward Work Programme

The Committee considered the Draft Forward Work Programme.

Agreed: To update the draft Forward Work Programme to reflect any decisions taken today and to proceed with the planned evidence sessions.



11. Any Other Business

Agreed: To advise the Minister for Infrastructure of the Committee's concerns in respect of grass cutting and its view that safety should be the priority in this regard; and to request clarification of when responsibility rests with the Department and with local councils.

The Committee considered a draft press release relating to its first external meeting at Belfast Grand Central Station Transport Hub.

Agreed: To issue the press release, as amended.

12. Date, Time and Place of next meeting

The next meeting will be on Wednesday, 6 June 2024 at 10:00 am in Room 29, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:54 am.

Mrs Deborah Erskine MLA Chairperson, Committee for Infrastructure 5 June 2024