

Committee for Education

Minutes of Proceedings

08 January 2025

Meeting Location: via teleconference

Present via teleconference:

Mr Nick Mathison MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Pat Sheehan MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Danny Baker MLA

Mr David Brooks MLA

Mr Colin Crawford MLA

Mrs Michelle Guy MLA

Ms Cara Hunter MLA

Mr Peter Martin MLA

Mrs Cathy Mason MLA

Miss Aoibhinn Treanor (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Mark McQuade (Assistant Clerk)

Mr Jim Nulty (Clerical Supervisor)

Mr Jonathan McMillan (Head of Legal Services), Item 4 only

Mr Stephen Orme (Assembly Clerk), Item 5 only

The meeting commenced at 2:06pm in closed session.

1. Apologies

No apologies were received.

2. Chairperson's Business

There was no Chairperson's Business.

3. Matters Arising

The Committee noted an Assembly Research paper on school governance.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to share the paper with the Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People, Bright Futures Project PEACHES and the Department of Education.

The Committee noted an Assembly Research paper on School Governance.

4. Committee Procedures and Practices - Remit & Powers

The Committee was briefed by the Committee Clerk and Mr Jonathan McMillen from Legal Services on procedures regarding the remit and powers of the Committee and their legal import and consequence.

This was followed by a question and answer session.

5. Primary Legislation

The Committee noted briefing papers on primary legislation.

The Committee was briefed by Mr Stephen Orme from the Bill Office on procedures re the passage of primary legislation.

This was followed by a question and answer session.

6. Strategic Planning

The Committee discussed its objectives and values; its short and medium-term priorities; and its ways of working.

12. Any Other Business

No other business was discussed.

13. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next Committee meeting will be held on Wednesday 15 January 2024 at 2:00pm in room 29, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:02pm.

Nick Mathison MLA

Chairperson, Committee for Education 15 January 2024