

Committee for Education

Minutes of Proceedings

10 March 2022

Meeting Location: Teleconference

Present by Video or Teleconference:

Mr Chris Lyttle MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Pat Sheehan MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Ms Nicola Brogan MLA

Mr Robbie Butler MLA

Mrs Diane Dodds MLA

Mr Justin McNulty MLA

Ms Aoibhinn Treanor (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Mark McQuade (Assistant Clerk)

Mr Marcus Matthews (Clerical Supervisor)

Mr Craig Mealy (Clerical Officer)

Apologies: Mr Harry Harvey MLA

Mr Daniel McCrossan MLA



Mr Robin Newton MBE MLA

The meeting commenced at 9:20am in public session with Mr Sheehan acting as Chairperson.

1. Apologies

Apologies as above.

Mr Sheehan has delegated his vote to Ms Brogan.

Ms Brogan has delegated her vote to Mr Sheehan and or Mr Lyttle.

Mr Butler has delegated his vote to Mr Lyttle.

Mr Harvey has delegated his vote to Mrs Dodds.

2. Chairperson's Business

The Committee noted a response from the Department of Education on term time workers and retainer fee payments.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to forward the response to the correspondent that raised this matter with it.

Mrs Dodds joined the meeting at 9:21am.



3. Northern Ireland Teachers' Council - Oral Briefing

The Committee noted correspondence from trade unions and correspondence from the Department of Education regarding the Teachers' Pension Scheme (Amendment) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2022.

The following witnesses joined the meeting by video conference at 9:22am:

Mr Justin McCamphill, National Official Northern Ireland, National Association of Schoolmasters Union of Women Teachers

Mr Alastair Donaghy, National Education Union, National Education Union

Mr Liam McGuckin, President, National Association of Head Teachers

Ms Leigh McKay, Ulster Teachers' Union, Ulster Teachers' Union

Mr Mark McTaggart, Irish National Teachers' Organisation

The witnesses briefed the Committee on educational matters.

This was followed by a question and answer session.

Mr McNulty left the meeting at 9:56am.

Ms Brogan left the meeting at 10:07am.

Mr Butler made a declaration of interest that he is a member of the Board of Governors for Killowen Primary School, Lisburn.

Mr Sheehan joined the meeting at 10:20am.

Mr Butler left the meeting at 10:27am

The Chairperson thanked the witnesses for the briefing.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Minister indicating the need to:

- Resolve the budget situation for schools;
- Mainstream the Engage programme;
- Address low teacher morale; and
- Improve how the Department and Education Authority communicate with teachers.



4. Substitute Teacher Manifesto - Oral Briefing

The Committee noted a briefing paper on the Substitute Teacher Manifesto.

The following witnesses joined the meeting by video conference at 10:27am:

Mr Justin McCamphill, National Official Northern Ireland, National Association of Schoolmasters Union of Women Teachers

Ms Jen Simpson, Substitute Teacher, Substitute Teacher Manifesto

Dr Annelies Taylor, Substitute Teacher, Substitute Teacher Manifesto

The witnesses briefed the Committee on the Substitute Teacher Manifesto.

This was followed by a question and answer session.

The Chairperson thanked the witnesses for the briefing.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to forward the Substitute Teacher Manifesto to the Minister of Education seeking a response to the issues raised in it.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to reflect the issuers raised in its Legacy report.

5. Any Other Business

Agreed: The Committee agreed to cancel, with regret, its visit to Armagh Planetarium scheduled for Wednesday 16 March 2022 and suggest in its Legacy report that a new Education Committee may wish to prioritise this visit and briefing on STEM.

6. Date, Time and Place of the next meeting

The next formal Committee meeting will be held on Tuesday 15 March 2022 by video conference at 9:00am.



The meeting was adjourned at 11:20am.

Chris Lyttle MLA

Chairperson, Committee for Education 16 March 2022