

Committee for Education

Minutes of Proceedings

4 November 2021

Meeting Location: Teleconference

Present by Video or Teleconference:

Mr Chris Lyttle MLA (Chairperson)

Ms Nicola Brogan MLA

Mr Daniel McCrossan MLA

Mr Justin McNulty MLA

Ms Aoibhinn Treanor (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Mark McQuade (Assistant Clerk)

Mr Marcus Matthews (Clerical Supervisor)

Mr Craig Mealey (Clerical Officer)

Apologies: Mr Pat Sheehan MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Robbie Butler MLA

Mrs Diane Dodds MLA

Mr Harry Harvey MLA

Mr Robin Newton MBE MLA



The meeting commenced at 9:30am in public session.

1. Apologies

Apologies as above.

2. Integrated Education Bill - Oral briefing by NIC-ICTU Education Group

The Committee noted correspondence from the NIC-ICTU Education Group on the Integrated Education Bill.

The following witnesses joined the meeting by video conference at 9:31am:

Maxine Murphy Higgins, Chair Education Trade Union Group, Northern Ireland Committee - Irish Congress of Trade Unions

Alan Law, Vice-Chair Education Trade Union Group, Northern Ireland

Committee Irish Congress of Trade Unions

Mark McTaggart, Irish National Teachers' Organisation

Kieran Ellison, Regional Officer, UNITE

Justin McCamphill, National Official Northern Ireland, National Association of

Schoolmasters Union of Women Teachers

The witnesses briefed the Committee on the Integrated Education Bill.

The briefing was covered by Hansard.

This was followed by a question and answer session.

The Chairperson thanked the witnesses for the briefing.



3. Any Other Business

No other business was discussed.

4. Date, Time and Place of the next meeting

The next formal Committee meeting will be held on Wednesday 10 November 2021 by video conference at 9:30am.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:27am.

Chris Lyttle MLA

Chairperson, Committee for Education 10 November 2021