

Concurrent Committee of the Committee for the Economy, Committee for Infrastructure and Committee for Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs

Minutes of Proceedings

24 March 2021

Meeting Location: Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings

Present:Dr Caoímhe Archibald MLA (Chairperson)Ms Michelle McIlveen MLA (Deputy Chairperson)Mr Philip McGuigan MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Present by Video or Teleconference:

Ms Clare Bailey MLA Mrs Rosemary Barton MLA Mr Roy Beggs MLA Mr John Blair MLA Mr Cathal Boylan MLA Mr Maurice Bradley MLA Mr Keith Buchanan MLA Mr Stewart Dickson MLA



Mr Harry Harvey MLA Mr William Irwin MLA Mrs Dolores Kelly MLA Ms Liz Kimmins MLA Mr Gary Middleton MLA Mr Patsy McGlone MLA Ms Sinéad McLaughlin MLA Mr Andrew Muir MLA Mr John O'Dowd MLA Mr Christopher Stalford MLA Mr John Stewart MLA Ms Claire Sugden MLA **Apologies:** Ms Martina Anderson MLA Mr Gordon Dunne MBE MLA Mr David Hilditch MLA Mr Declan McAleer MLA

In Attendance: Mr Peter Hall (Assembly Clerk) Ms Stella McArdle (Assembly Clerk) Ms Cathie White (Assembly Clerk) Mr Jonathan Lawless (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Ms Elaine Farrell (Assistant Assembly Clerk)



Ms Sinead Kelly (Assistant Clerk) Mr Michael Greer (Clerical Officer) Ms Marion Johnston (Clerical Supervisor) Ms Jean Barkley (Clerical Officer) Ms Kate Duffy (Clerical Officer) Mr Thomas Manning (Clerical Officer) Ms Shauna Mageean (EU Affairs Manager) Ms Jessica Jacques (EU Affairs Officer)

The meeting commenced at 10.14 am in open session

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Briefing from The Trader Support Service (TSS) & Her Majesty's Revenue and Customs (HMRC) – Impact of the Northern Ireland Protocol

The representatives joined the meeting at 10.22 am. via StarLeaf

Mrs Mary Scullion, Head of Customer Service, Local and Devolved Government, TSS

Mr Christian Benson, VP Client Managing Director, TSS

Mr Aidan Reilly - Director for Customs and Border Design, HMRC

Mrs Julie Etheridge, Senior Reporting Officer, HMRC



The representatives briefed the Committee and this was followed by a question and answer session.

The oral evidence session was reported by Hansard.

Mrs Barton left the meeting at 11.32 a.m.

Mr Blair left the meeting at 11.35 a.m.

Mrs Kelly left the meeting at 11.38 a.m.

The Chairperson thanked the representatives for their attendance.

The representatives left the meeting at 11.52 am.

Agreed: Members agreed to forward any further questions to the representatives to Economy Committee office team.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that the minutes of the meeting would be agreed by the three chairpersons and signed off by the Chairperson of the Concurrent Committee.

3. Any Other Business

None.

The meeting was adjourned at 11.53 am.

Dr Caoímhe Archibald MLA Chairperson, Concurrent Committee of the Committee for the Economy,



Committee for Infrastructure and Committee for Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs

14 April 2021