

COMMITTEE FOR CULTURE, ARTS AND LEISURE

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY 20th MARCH 2014

ROOM 21 PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

- Present: Miss Michelle McIlveen MLA (Chairperson) Mr William Irwin MLA (Deputy Chairperson) Mr David Hilditch MLA Mr William Humphrey MLA Ms Rosaleen McCorley MLA Mr Basil McCrea MLA Mrs Karen McKevitt MLA Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA
- Apologies: Mr Dominic Bradley MLA Mr Michael McGimpsey MLA Mr Oliver McMullan MLA
- In attendance: Mr Peter Hall (Clerk) Ms Ciara McKay (Assistant Clerk) Mr Jonathan Lamont (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Malcolm Collins (Clerical Officer) Ms Megan Ward (Bursary Student)

The Committee opened in public session at 10.27am.

1. Apologies

The apologies are noted above.

2. Draft Minutes

Agreed: Minutes were agreed for the meeting held on the 13th March 2014.

3. Matters Arising

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Minister for Social Development regarding 'Sport in the Community' funding post 2015.

The Committee noted the correspondence tracker.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to forward correspondence from the Minister to the OFMDFM Committee regarding its Inquiry into the Barosso Task Force.

The Committee noted the Minister's response to the Committee for Employment on Learning on its Inquiry into Post Special Need Provision in Education, Employment and Training for those with Learning Disabilities.

The Committee noted correspondence from OFMDFM advising that it is monitoring developments in relation to Press Regulation.

The Committee noted correspondence from OFCOM regarding the renewal of the Channel 4 Licence.

Agreed: The Committee agreed its submission to the Commons Select Committee Inquiry into the Future of the BBC.

Mr William Irwin joined the meeting at 10.35am.

4. Inquiry into Inclusion in the Arts of Working Class Communities: Briefing from the Arts Council of Northern Ireland

The following officials joined the meeting at 10.37am:

Chairman, Mr Bob Collins; Chief Executive, Ms Roisin McDonough; Director of Arts Development, Ms Nóirín McKinney; and Director of Strategic Development, Mr Nick Livingston.

Mrs Karen McKevitt joined the meeting at 10.37am.

The officials briefed the Committee.

Mr David Hilditch left the meeting at 10.48am.

A question and answer session followed

Mr David Hilditch returned to the meeting at 11.15am.

Mr Cathal Ó hOisín left the meeting at 11.23am.

Mr Cathal Ó hOisín returned to the meeting at 11.25am.

Agreed: The Committee invited the Arts Council to return to brief it at the end of the

inquiry to address any outstanding issues.

Mr Basil McCrea joined the meeting at 11.57am.

Officials left the meeting at 11.57am.

The Chairperson, Miss Michelle McIlveen, left the meeting at 11.57am. The Deputy Chairperson, Mr William Irwin, took the Chair.

5. Inquiry into Inclusion in the Arts of Working Class Communities: Briefing from Arts and Business Northern Ireland

The following officials joined the meeting at 11.59am:

Chair, Dr Joanne Stuart; and Chief Executive, Ms Mary Trainor-Nagele.

The official briefed the Committee.

A question and answer session followed.

Ms Rosaleen McCorley left the meeting at 12.08pm.

Ms Rosaleen McCorley returned to the meeting at 12.12pm.

Agreed: Officials agreed to provide a breakdown of funding across rural and urban areas; and details of case studies across regions.

Mr William Humphrey left the meeting at 12.15pm.

6. Oral Briefing from Arts and Business Northern Ireland regarding the Ethics of Corporate Sponsorship

The following officials briefed the Committee at 12.17pm:

Chair, Dr Joanne Stuart; and Chief Executive, Ms Mary Trainor-Nagele.

Mr Cathal Ó hOisín left the meeting at 12.19pm.

A question and answer session followed.

Mr William Humphrey returned to the meeting at 12.25pm.

Mr Cathal Ó hOisín returned to the meeting at 12.37pm.

Officials left the meeting at 12.38pm.

7. Correspondence

Agreed: The Committee agreed to forward correspondence on the Investment Strategy Project Delivery Portal onto the Department for information.

8. Chairperson's Business

The Committee noted the invite tracker and all invites received.

9. Forward Work Programme

Agreed: The Committee agreed the Forward Work Programme

Agreed: The Committee agreed not to meet on Thursday 22nd May 2014.

10. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

11. Date, Time, and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure will take place on Thursday 3rd April 2014 at 10.00am in the Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 12.46pm.

Miss Michelle McIlveen MLA Chairperson, Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure 3rd April 2014