

Northern Ireland Assembly

ASSEMBLY AND EXECUTIVE REVIEW COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 11 OCTOBER 2016, ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Present: Christopher Stalford MLA, Chairperson

Jim Allister MLA Alex Attwood MLA Brenda Hale MLA Danny Kennedy MLA Philip McGuigan MLA

Ian Milne MLA Philip Smith MLA

In Attendance: Keith McBride, Senior Assistant Assembly Clerk

Clairita Frazer, Assistant Assembly Clerk

Alison Ferguson, Clerical Officer

Apologies: Michaela Boyle MLA, Deputy Chairperson

Nelson McCausland MLA

The meeting commenced at 10.04am in open session.

Brenda Hale joined the meeting at 10.04am.

Danny Kennedy and Ian Milne joined the meeting at 10.06am.

1. Apologies

As detailed above.

2. Declaration of Interests

The Committee noted information in respect of the requirement to declare any interests which

may be relevant to the work of the Committee.

3. Minutes of the Committee meeting held on 7 June 2016

The draft minutes of the meeting held on 7 June 2016 were agreed.

4. Matters Arising

None.

5. Assembly Research briefing: Institutional Reform Committees

The Committee received a briefing from Assembly Research on the work and scope of other similar institutional reform committees in the UK, Ireland and internationally.

Philip Smith joined the meeting at 10.17am.

6. Future Work of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee

The Committee noted a clerk's briefing note as well as responses from Sinn Fein, the Alliance Party, the Green Party, Traditional Unionist Voice and the Social Democratic and Labour Party in relation to the future work of the Committee.

Agreed: in principle to taking forward some scoping work in relation to Opposition, Devolution arrangements and a review of the Departmental structure.

Agreed: to commission comparative research assessing how formal Oppositions are funded and serviced in other jurisdictions.

7. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

8. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

Agreed: that the date, time and place of the next meeting would be advised in due course.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 10.24am.

Mr Christopher Stalford MLA Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee 25/01/2017