

Northern Ireland Assembly

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 18 NOVEMBER 2014, ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Present: Mr Stephen Moutray (Chairperson)

Mr Pat Sheehan (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Roy Beggs

Mr Gregory Campbell

Mr Paul Givan Mr Trevor Lunn

Mr Raymond McCartney Ms Caitríona Ruane

In Attendance: Ms Claire McCanny (Senior Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Ms Kate McCullough (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Jim Nulty (Clerical Supervisor)

The meeting opened at 10.35am in public session.

1. Apologies

Ms Paula Bradley

2. Minutes of the last meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the Committee meeting held on Tuesday 4 November 2014.

3. Matters Arising

Members noted the research papers prepared by the Northern Ireland Assembly Research and Information Services on the following issues:

- A breakdown of gender in public appointments by Departments and the Public Appointment Process which includes Training Programmes
- Additional Information on Job Sharing / Twinning/Zipping which is relevant to the Northern Ireland Assembly
- Scheduling of voting times in other legislatures in the UK and Ireland.

Members noted a briefing paper prepared by the Secretariat Office on the Review of the Procedures Committee on the current organisation of the business week and the consideration of electronic voting in the Northern Ireland Assembly.

Mr. John McCallister MLA and Mr. Peter Hutchinson joined the meeting at 10.38am

4. Private Members Bill on Assembly Reform (Opposition) Bill – Mr. John McCallister MLA

Pat Sheehan joined the meeting at 10.54am

Roy Beggs declared an interest as a Deputy Speaker at 10.55am

Paul Givan joined the meeting at 10.56am

Paul Givan left the meeting at 11.01am

Caitríona Ruane left the meeting at 11.15am

Trevor Lunn left the meeting at 11.17am

Gregory Campbell left the meeting at 11.40am

Members considered the key issues discussed which included the role of an opposition, the size of the Assembly, the role and appointment of the Speaker and weighted majority.

Mr. John McCallister MLA and Mr. Peter Hutchinson left the meeting at 11.42am

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.42am.

Mr Stephen Moutray, Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee